Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > PPRuNe Worldwide > Middle East
Reload this Page >

Flight deck positions at FlyDubai Master Thread - Merged

Middle East Many expats still flying in Knoteetingham. Regional issues can be discussed here.

Flight deck positions at FlyDubai Master Thread - Merged

Old 1st Oct 2009, 17:49
  #421 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: in the world
Posts: 16
Thanks alot Randy BMC and FLY2AK i guess i just misread your comments about southwest. All the same i appreciate your honesty. Your right about the US because i had a friend who has been trying to look for work there and lets just say he is doing odd jobs just to stay a float. I guess i just need to think things through and decide what i want for my family and my career. I will take you up on your offer Randy BMC as with the current airline i work for flys to DXB on a daily basis so once i see it on my roster will be sure to PM you. Once again thanks for the info guys and wish you happy contrails
primeco is offline  
Old 1st Oct 2009, 23:13
  #422 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai, UAE by way of Denver, Colorado, USA
Posts: 71
Cool primeco, I look forward to meeting you and having a chat.

Take care!
Randy
RandyBMC is offline  
Old 2nd Oct 2009, 13:30
  #423 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Here
Posts: 67
Sky-Diver.....I hope you make it out here. You have the time and experience to do the job, right now it's just a matter of competition and there is a lot of it out there, but I am sure in time it will work out, lets just hope for sooner rather than later. Good luck.

Fly
fly2AK is offline  
Old 2nd Oct 2009, 14:59
  #424 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sand Box
Posts: 9
Guy's, please do read up on EK resignations....
Please be advised.... Flydubai is managed by EK or exEK management...
Be carefull.... the deal may look good.... but contracts are not being honored......
Danny2009 is offline  
Old 2nd Oct 2009, 17:03
  #425 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Here
Posts: 67
Danny2009.......I will look at the thread and read up on that. Feel free to send me a PM if you want to discuss it more. Thanks......Fly
fly2AK is offline  
Old 12th Oct 2009, 10:18
  #426 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere sunny
Posts: 39
Hi guys , just a quick one , do FD start paying you from day one on the induction course or from when you do your LST ?? Also are there any problems getting the 6 months advance on the accommadation allowance ? Thanks
mave292 is offline  
Old 14th Oct 2009, 18:51
  #427 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: where I found my current job
Posts: 122
Hi,

Tried to go over this very long thread but probably missed a few things so sorry if these questions were asked before.

What do the rosters look like at FD? Is it easy to commute to Europe? What s the max Days off you get in a row and how many "long" rest periods do you get per month? Do you get staff travel on UAE airlines and more?

As it seems that some people from EK are behind flydubai (Well that s what I understood), would it make it harder for me to join EK if I want to fly longhaul later on? Maybe they wouldn t take pilots from an airline in the same group?

Thanks
winch launch is offline  
Old 14th Oct 2009, 20:19
  #428 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai, UAE by way of Denver, Colorado, USA
Posts: 71
You actually start getting paid when you step on the airplane to come to Dubai for induction. I am figuring out the 6 month allowance advance now, so I am not sure yet how it will go. I was told not to anticipate any problems.

As far as rosters, you have some trips assigned for the month, and a lot of standby days. There are about 5 days off scheduled. Standby days are typically not flying days, and can be done from home (or the beach!). All trips are day trips (out and back), so you are home every night. There are no overnight stays.

I would say a commute to Europe would be very difficult, just due to the standby days and low number of days off actually scheduled into the roster.

We have travel on flydubai for ourselves and family plus a few friends. We also have travel on EK for just ourselves and immediate family. All of these are ID90 and ID50 tickets, so it is not free. There are no jumpseat privileges, which seems typical in the ME.

On going to EK from flydubai, I am not sure. I plan to stay here, so it wasn't a concern for me. Maybe someone else can answer. If I had to guess, I would say it will be a matter of staffing more than anything. If EK is really short, and flydubai is OK, they may take you (after an application and interview I'm sure), and if it is opposite, I would guess not. This is purely speculation on my part.

Hope that helps! I am really enjoying Dubai and flydubai so far

Randy
RandyBMC is offline  
Old 14th Oct 2009, 21:14
  #429 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontairo, Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 1
Thanks for all the info about FlyDubai.Would you recommend Flydubai as good company to work for? and are they welling to upgrade experienced FOs, and last but not least how is the money for FOs after all the expenses?
Mehran is offline  
Old 15th Oct 2009, 23:53
  #430 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai, UAE by way of Denver, Colorado, USA
Posts: 71
Money is decent, eh (I see you are from Canada).

I honestly love it so far! Very close knit community, and a lot of good guys/girls here.

They are planning to phase out all together the DECs and go to straight FO upgrades. I would say the potential is good.

Hope that helps!
Randy
RandyBMC is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2009, 08:51
  #431 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: where I found my current job
Posts: 122
Thanks for your input Randy,

Do you know what are the requirements (min hours/years in the company...) for FD FOs to switch to the left seat?

Thanks!

Winch
winch launch is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2009, 10:44
  #432 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oasis
Posts: 71
3500 total time, 500 PIC in multi crew aircraft
2 OPCs at flydubai
12 months service at flydubai
long-gonner is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2009, 13:01
  #433 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Far flung shores
Posts: 202
... and you have to pass the Command assessment process (it's not just a given)!
Puritan is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2009, 13:12
  #434 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: No where
Posts: 28
Since the 500 PIC requirement for the FO position has been removed, how can one get the PIC time once joined FZ?

Does PIC/US (PF) count towards PIC time?

Thanks in advance for any clarification!

btw, are there any Asians flying for FZ?

Last edited by lowvaeater; 16th Oct 2009 at 14:18.
lowvaeater is offline  
Old 16th Oct 2009, 13:45
  #435 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dubai, UAE by way of Denver, Colorado, USA
Posts: 71
I believe according to the GCAA you can substitute up to 50% of your FO time for PIC.

EDIT

- I found out that you can actually use one landing for one hour up to half of the time required for upgrade.

Hope that helps!
Randy

Last edited by RandyBMC; 19th Oct 2009 at 18:37.
RandyBMC is offline  
Old 19th Oct 2009, 04:47
  #436 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 97
Saving?

So are you guys managing to put money away after all your expenses? I would only go if after 3/5 years I could come bck with a healthy sum...
Redline is offline  
Old 22nd Oct 2009, 09:53
  #437 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 97
Interview!

I've been invited for an interview...Anyone advise on dress code?
Redline is offline  
Old 22nd Oct 2009, 16:14
  #438 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Asteriod B612
Posts: 27
Dress code for interview

You can wear your sunday best...
Common man. It is an interview. Wear a nice suit.
Almendrudo is offline  
Old 25th Oct 2009, 19:34
  #439 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: where I found my current job
Posts: 122
?

So if you don t have JET PIC experience before joing FD there is no way to meet the criteria for an upgrade? There has to be other criteria for their FOs with no previous command experience?

Winch
winch launch is offline  
Old 26th Oct 2009, 08:11
  #440 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: No where
Posts: 28
Thanks for that Randy, I guess the problem for some of us would be getting the other half. Cheers!
lowvaeater is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.