PDA

View Full Version : IR for people that don't want to become professional pilots.

AdamFrisch
3rd Jan 2010, 10:27
Assuming the JAA rules stay as they are today, at some point I might want to get an IR. Not now, but maybe in 1-2 years time.

My problem is that I'm a freelancer. I get my jobs very suddenly - often I get confirmed on a job only 2 days before it's happening. My job takes me to all corners of the world and the jobs vary in length, i.e., making plans ahead of time is impossible - it's just the nature of my work.

Now, this is the problem with the IR. It all seems to be geared towards pilots who are either unemployed elsewhere, or studying.

Is there any place in England, Europe, anywhere where you can do either a very condensed theory course (and ideally not one that has one batch every 6 months as if I have to pull out in the last minute due to work, I'd like to not have to wait another 6 to get on the next one) or where you can do most of it on your own as in a distance course?

The flight training is more flexible - it's just the time nature of the theory course that is the killer for me.

TWR
3rd Jan 2010, 10:59
You can do the theory in distance learning. You have 12 months to complete it. If you have some previous technical background you'll find a lot of the matter is already known.

Apparently it is a major problem to find sufficient FTOs in the UK, so maybe you should look abroad. Since you already have a PPL you can make a trip out of the (few) required class attendances.

julian_storey
3rd Jan 2010, 11:45
Or get an FAA IR.

You can study for the ONE written exam whenever you get time and you can sit the exam either in the USA of at a couple of places here.

sternone
3rd Jan 2010, 13:04
If you don't want a career as an ATP go for the FAA-IR.

AdamFrisch
3rd Jan 2010, 13:45
Can you do a complete distance course for JAA IR? That'd be ideal. I didn't think you could.