"Verify AppleID before we closed your account" ...
Thread Starter
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 758
Likes: 2
From: morayshire
"Verify AppleID before we closed your account" ...
......within 24 hours. In the text it suggested opening an attached pdf (says it's secure??). Nothing seems to have changed on SWMBO's iPad. Is this some sort of scam?
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
From: Norfolk
Apple never asks for confirmation in this manner. You may be asked to supply your password when downloading apps or media from the official App Store, even when it is free, but that is it.
You can check, alter and confirm details from a menu at the bottom of the screen within the App Store.
Never supply details to any site that is not owned by Apple, so basically the App Store and iTunes App are the only places that should ever ask for a password.
You can check, alter and confirm details from a menu at the bottom of the screen within the App Store.
Never supply details to any site that is not owned by Apple, so basically the App Store and iTunes App are the only places that should ever ask for a password.
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,569
Likes: 1
From: Florida
here'a one I got yesterday
request "cancel De-activation" is that like Deactivate the De-activation"
OFFICE 365
Dear User,
A request to deactivate your Email account was made and this request will be processed shortly.If this was accidental, you are advised to verify your account to cancel the request now
Cancel De-activation
However, if you do not cancel this request, your account will be deactivated shortly and all data will be lost permanently.
Or you may be asked to enter this security code: 4273
Regards.
Email Admin
This message is auto-generated from Microsoft security server, and replies sent to this email can not be delivered.
Microsoft account symbol
request "cancel De-activation" is that like Deactivate the De-activation"

OFFICE 365
Dear User,
A request to deactivate your Email account was made and this request will be processed shortly.If this was accidental, you are advised to verify your account to cancel the request now
Cancel De-activation
However, if you do not cancel this request, your account will be deactivated shortly and all data will be lost permanently.
Or you may be asked to enter this security code: 4273
Regards.
Email Admin
This message is auto-generated from Microsoft security server, and replies sent to this email can not be delivered.
Microsoft account symbol
Administrator
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
If it's not *.apple.com it's not Apple.
Fake "from" addresses are trivially easy to create.
Even if it seems to be from a legitimate source you should still not trust it.
SD
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 16
From: Here
Fake "from" addresses are trivially easy to create.
Similarly, phone caller IDs can be faked by anyone with their own internal phone system. I am not sure about those with plain copper lines but essentially any multi-line business using digital lines (ISDN) gets to put their own caller id on the call. This may sound odd but consider the case where for reliability a business buys lines from more than one supplier yet wants to put the corporate 0800 number on the wires as the caller ID. The phone companies allow that. The line user gets to put on any caller ID that they choose.
Chief Tardis Technician
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
From: Western Australia S31.715 E115.737
Do not attempt to open the PDF, it will be a concealed executable file that can do anything from sending junk to your address book, to turning your PC to a spam forwarding hub or worse

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 263
Likes: 0
From: spacetime
Is this one genuine or not? [email protected].
My mother keeps getting asked if she has changed her apple id.
My mother keeps getting asked if she has changed her apple id.
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
From: Norfolk
gemma10
A scan of that address shows many redirects that end in a cloud account, so I would suggest that the address supplied by you is not genuine. Also the time to get a reply from that address is way too long for a legitimate commercial address, where ping return times are typically much less than a second.
Another trick used by scammers is to create a clickable link that appears to contain a genuine address, but a different address is hidden behind the link with the ink colour set to match the paper colour, so the real link to the scam site remains undetected.
A scan of that address shows many redirects that end in a cloud account, so I would suggest that the address supplied by you is not genuine. Also the time to get a reply from that address is way too long for a legitimate commercial address, where ping return times are typically much less than a second.
Another trick used by scammers is to create a clickable link that appears to contain a genuine address, but a different address is hidden behind the link with the ink colour set to match the paper colour, so the real link to the scam site remains undetected.
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 2,847
Likes: 0
From: Confoederatio Helvetica
Most spammers are lazy. They will not bother to spoof the from email address. First step is to check it and if it's not apple.com it is certainly spam. If it is, you still need to be careful, following steps as suggested by andytug above.
Currently my spam is almost exclusivly from FedEx and Google. Mostly with hidden links to cheap and phony drug sites. Perhaps also contains malware. I now have my default setting to not open images.
Currently my spam is almost exclusivly from FedEx and Google. Mostly with hidden links to cheap and phony drug sites. Perhaps also contains malware. I now have my default setting to not open images.
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 448
Likes: 0
From: Norfolk U.K.
"Verify AppleID before we closed your account"
Poor use of English, and sloppy punctuation, is a hallmark of spammers.
TFP


Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,993
Likes: 512
From: UK
Why, why, why do people have to ask if these messages are genuine? Of course they're not!! Even more so the recently received notification of a 'tax repayment'!! No need to analyze or consider if they MIGHT be valid ... they are bad news rubbish!! Into the bin or, preferably, forward to the spoofing agency.

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,856
Likes: 75
From: uk
Why, why, why do people have to ask if these messages are genuine?
I phoned Travelex using a number on their website and they assured me that it was genuine but had been sent to me in error. They asked me to delete it. This raises the question of how did they have my e mail address when I have never used Travelex?
Joined: Mar 2002
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 9,217
Likes: 981
From: Seat 1A
Do not attempt to open the PDF, it will be a concealed executable file that can do anything from sending junk to your address book, to turning your PC to a spam forwarding hub or worse
); should my Anti-Virus or Anti Malware be picking these up before I open them (which I haven't done)? Thinking of my elderly friends...
Dear Google User.
You have been selected as a winner for using Google services,attached to this email is Our Official Notification Letter for your perusal.
Congratulations,
Matt Brittin.
CEO Google UK.
©2016 Google - Terms & Privacy.
You have been selected as a winner for using Google services,attached to this email is Our Official Notification Letter for your perusal.
Congratulations,
Matt Brittin.
CEO Google UK.
©2016 Google - Terms & Privacy.




