Windows blocked?
Thread Starter

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 341
Likes: 4
From: Glasgow
Windows blocked?
While browsing FB message appears:
Windows has been blocked due to suspicious activity! - do not shut down or restart your computer
An 0800 number is given which apparently relates to a firm in Aberdeen which claims to be an associate of Windows.
They will do a free diagnosis of the problem but the cure would have to be paid for.
Does anyone know whether this is legit?
Windows has been blocked due to suspicious activity! - do not shut down or restart your computer
An 0800 number is given which apparently relates to a firm in Aberdeen which claims to be an associate of Windows.
They will do a free diagnosis of the problem but the cure would have to be paid for.
Does anyone know whether this is legit?
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 647
Likes: 0
We Need more details Scotbill
Joined: Jul 2015
Aviation Qualifications: CPL
Posts: 140
Likes: 29
From: Miles away
Some background imfo: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/secu...ansomware.aspx
Perhaps some help here: https://www.avast.com/c-ransomware
Google 'Ransom Ware' for more ideas. Good luck!
PS This might also be useful: http://www.pcworld.com/article/20840...ansomware.html
Perhaps some help here: https://www.avast.com/c-ransomware
Google 'Ransom Ware' for more ideas. Good luck!
PS This might also be useful: http://www.pcworld.com/article/20840...ansomware.html
Last edited by Procrastinus; 22nd December 2016 at 20:28. Reason: Addition
Thread Starter

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 341
Likes: 4
From: Glasgow
Thanks guys.
Fortunately for me this one proved to be reasonably simple to get rid of - a couple of reboots cleared the message.
(It specifically warns you not to restart or switch the computer off - relying on you accepting their service to solve the "problem").
The number associated with it is 0800 0903831 and it is known on Google - particularly for using apparently legit sites on FB
Fortunately for me this one proved to be reasonably simple to get rid of - a couple of reboots cleared the message.
(It specifically warns you not to restart or switch the computer off - relying on you accepting their service to solve the "problem").
The number associated with it is 0800 0903831 and it is known on Google - particularly for using apparently legit sites on FB
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 565
Likes: 21
From: Passed away on Sept 6th
Yup, a new one to me, too - though a variation on an old theme. Solved in my case by rightclicking on taskbar and killing the screen by task manager. Then a scan with Malwarebytes, just in case the nasty was still lurking.
No damage this time, but 'they' are no doubt developing new ways of getting round this escape route...
No damage this time, but 'they' are no doubt developing new ways of getting round this escape route...
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,845
Likes: 21
From: YMML
It could be as simple as a graphics pop-up relying on the user credulity to ring the number and allow remote access.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...1-64aac2f5914c
It could also be malware so I'd suggest following this rather thorough extermination regimen:
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/vir...n-blocked-scam
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...1-64aac2f5914c
It could also be malware so I'd suggest following this rather thorough extermination regimen:
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/vir...n-blocked-scam




