Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Windows blocked?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 22nd December 2016 | 19:54
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 341
Likes: 4
From: Glasgow
Windows blocked?

While browsing FB message appears:

Windows has been blocked due to suspicious activity! - do not shut down or restart your computer

An 0800 number is given which apparently relates to a firm in Aberdeen which claims to be an associate of Windows.
They will do a free diagnosis of the problem but the cure would have to be paid for.

Does anyone know whether this is legit?
scotbill is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 20:08
  #2 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 647
Likes: 0
We Need more details Scotbill

Here's a good place to start:

Computer Misuse Act 1990

Even better: contact the Police.
Guest 112233 is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 20:15
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jul 2015
Aviation Qualifications: CPL
Posts: 140
Likes: 29
From: Miles away
Some background imfo: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/secu...ansomware.aspx

Perhaps some help here: https://www.avast.com/c-ransomware

Google 'Ransom Ware' for more ideas. Good luck!

PS This might also be useful: http://www.pcworld.com/article/20840...ansomware.html

Last edited by Procrastinus; 22nd December 2016 at 20:28. Reason: Addition
Procrastinus is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 21:38
  #4 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 341
Likes: 4
From: Glasgow
Thanks guys.

Fortunately for me this one proved to be reasonably simple to get rid of - a couple of reboots cleared the message.
(It specifically warns you not to restart or switch the computer off - relying on you accepting their service to solve the "problem").

The number associated with it is 0800 0903831 and it is known on Google - particularly for using apparently legit sites on FB
scotbill is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 21:46
  #5 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 565
Likes: 21
From: Passed away on Sept 6th
Yup, a new one to me, too - though a variation on an old theme. Solved in my case by rightclicking on taskbar and killing the screen by task manager. Then a scan with Malwarebytes, just in case the nasty was still lurking.


No damage this time, but 'they' are no doubt developing new ways of getting round this escape route...
jimtherev is offline  
Reply
Old 23rd December 2016 | 04:00
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,845
Likes: 21
From: YMML
It could be as simple as a graphics pop-up relying on the user credulity to ring the number and allow remote access.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...1-64aac2f5914c

It could also be malware so I'd suggest following this rather thorough extermination regimen:

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/vir...n-blocked-scam
le Pingouin is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.