Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Misc. Forums > Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting
Reload this Page >

e-mails to btinternet addresses

Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

e-mails to btinternet addresses

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 21st December 2016 | 14:05
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 529
Likes: 6
From: Hertfordshire
e-mails to btinternet addresses

This may be a little local difficulty but I've had trouble getting e-mails to some correspondents who have btinternet addresses.
I sent an e-mail to two addresses and the bounce message (with addresses replaced by [] ) was:
[] SMTP error from remote server for TEXT command, host: mx.bt.lon5.cpcloud.co.uk (65.20.0.49) reason: 554 Message rejected: Policy (1.7.1.1) message looks like SPAM. Guide for bulk senders []

Two addresses isn't "bulk" in my view, but I tried each on its own and got

The following message to [] was undeliverable.The reason for the problem: 554 Message rejected: Policy (1.7.1.1) message looks like SPAM. Guide for bulk senders []Am I being thick or have I stumbled on a known problem?
Oh, I use Thunderbird under Windoze XP and talktalk is the ISP concerned.
Allan Lupton is offline  
Reply
Old 21st December 2016 | 14:26
  #2 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 624
Likes: 0
From: East sussex
Best I can do is give you the free phone number 'BT internet help'
0800 1114567
dazdaz1 is offline  
Reply
Old 21st December 2016 | 14:51
  #3 (permalink)  
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 733
Likes: 2
From: Andalucia
This is common and random, if you play you will find that you can have a rejection, immediately resend and it will pass through. Another ploy is to send with gmail, that always gets through, although, like the OP my preference is Thunderbird.
W10 & thunderbird. ISP is BT!
Wodrick is online now  
Reply
Old 21st December 2016 | 17:28
  #4 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 529
Likes: 6
From: Hertfordshire
Thanks for replies!
I have tried re-sending without success. A friend suggested my subject line may have looked like spam to btinternet (it was a five-letter abbreviation in caps.) so I tried expanding the subject line into a couple of words and (so far after 21 mins.) no bounce message.
Allan Lupton is offline  
Reply
Old 21st December 2016 | 21:52
  #5 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 565
Likes: 21
From: Passed away on Sept 6th
As Wodders says, this is completely random. I regularly send out rostering group emails and have discovered that btinternet sometimes bounces them - notifying me hours or days later - and sometimes doesn't. Didn't like me email address - or rather doesn't like the organisation hosting my domain. Have abandoned that host and signed up with another - now goes smoothly....




so far.
jimtherev is offline  
Reply
Old 21st December 2016 | 22:22
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 647
Likes: 0
I've just checked my EM functionality

I deliberately EM'd my self just to check.

All seems OK is it possible that one of your recipients IP Addresses has been flagged as a SPAM relay ?

I have had this happen in the past to me.

CAT III
Guest 112233 is offline  
Reply
Old 21st December 2016 | 22:27
  #7 (permalink)  
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 733
Likes: 2
From: Andalucia
One of my 'regulars' is my brother the other is a community newsletter that is delivered to my g-mail address which is then forwarded to my BT address and rejected. Obviously BT are no help as ever.
Wodrick is online now  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 08:19
  #8 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 221
Likes: 0
From: localhost
Isn't @btinternet a Yahoo account?
crablab is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 11:23
  #9 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 647
Likes: 0
BT Vis Yahoo

BT split off their E Mail servicing from YAHoo but I would need to confirm if BT were still using Yahoo during the great theft of customer Data.

CATIII - One for BT to answer.
Guest 112233 is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 11:28
  #10 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 529
Likes: 6
From: Hertfordshire
Originally Posted by Allan Lupton
Thanks for replies!
I have tried re-sending without success. A friend suggested my subject line may have looked like spam to btinternet (it was a five-letter abbreviation in caps.) so I tried expanding the subject line into a couple of words and (so far after 21 mins.) no bounce message.
18 hours later and no bounce messages from either addressee and a reply from one, so that seems to have fixed it!
Not sure that the yahoos (or the Houyhnhnms for that matter) have anything to do with it!
Allan Lupton is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd December 2016 | 21:44
  #11 (permalink)  
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 288
Likes: 2
From: Exeter UK
The vast majority of btinternet.com email addresses are - and always have been - with Yahoo. Some, however, are with another email provider. The transfer from Yahoo to the other provider did not go well so further transfers were stopped at least 2, possibly 3, years ago.

Anyone logging into their BT Yahoo mail via the bt.com website recently will have seen warnings to change their passwords and other security information. Emails were sent to all BT Yahoo customers when the Yahoo breach was disclosed several months ago. I bet the majority of recipients ignored the advice though!

The problem with some email providers rejecting email as spam is usually caused by "SPF" (Sender Policy Framework).
SPF uses the "reputation" of the sender's email provider's IP address to determine whether or not an email is spam. As thousands of email users will share the same IP address it only takes one email user who sends out spam to tarnish the IP address reputation. Thus, for a short while, emails might be rejected as spam during the period that the IP address is blacklisted. Lots about it on the web if you want to search for it.
EGTE is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.