Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Not wanted here

Old 11th November 2008 | 22:14
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
Scalextric for Men
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
From: Southern England outside the M25
Not wanted here

I have recieved email offers for manhood enhancing products.
The source email sender is the same as recieving address, MINE.
So how has some -**- been able to add a product to my email?
AVG has swept.
Operating system is XP.
Microsoft Office 2003
BT home hub.
Ethernet Hard Wired
Any suggestions, and if the answers lay in the FAQ's. I did look.
Capn Notarious is offline  
Reply
Old 11th November 2008 | 22:56
  #2 (permalink)  
Administrator
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
email - SMTP specifically - is just fundamentally insecure, unfortunately. The "from" field can be absolutely anything the sender wishes.

Spammers can simply insert the recipient email address as the sender, which is what you have seen.

The good news is that it doesn't necessarily mean that your email account has been compromised - the bad news is that your address has obviously got onto a spam list, but then most email addresses do!

SD
Saab Dastard is offline  
Reply
Old 11th November 2008 | 22:59
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 565
Likes: 21
From: Passed away on Sept 6th
You can download the sending route

Hi Capn,

Spammers have more than a few tools to fox the casual recipient - hence the number of phishing emails you get supposedly from banks, nigerian millionaires & so on. If you download the headers you can look more closely at the origin.

For example, below I've copied the header from a recent mail in my spam.

This was a genuine one: I've deleted phishers & so don't have one to show you. But you will see that many have a number of 'hops' in them - i.e. they are relayed through several machines, and you get 'received from xxx'; 'received from yyy'. The bottom one might give a clue to the originator.

In Google Chrome you right-click the sender, then click 'View page source'; in Outlook right click again and then click 'options'. In the latter case, the headers are in a box at the bottom of the pop-up.

It might give some idea of the origin of your spam... but, then again it probably won't .

Have fun,
Jim

X-AOL-UID: 3155.1007080134X-AOL-DATE: Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:59:01 AM Eastern Standard TimeReturn-Path: <[email protected]>Received: from rly-dd06.mx.aol.com (rly-dd06.mail.aol.com [172.19.141.153]) by air-dd06.mail.aol.com (v121_r4.4) with ESMTP id MAILINDD061-b7f49185a221a8; Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:58:58 -0500Received: from smtprelay.hostedemail.com (smtprelay0150.hostedemail.com [216.40.44.150]) by rly-dd06.mx.aol.com (v121_r4.4) with ESMTP id MAILRELAYINDD061-b7f49185a221a8; Mon, 10 Nov 2008 10:58:27 -0500Received: from filter.hostedemail.com (ff-bigip1 [10.5.19.254])
jimtherev is offline  
Reply
Old 12th November 2008 | 16:16
  #4 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
Scalextric for Men
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
From: Southern England outside the M25
Thank you kindly.
Capn Notarious is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.