Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

What have I got?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 15th February 2004 | 03:09
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
From: here and there
What have I got?

Hi,

I've just recieved an e-mail from a blueskies131@hotmail with the subject registration confirmation

I think this may be a virus, possibly the new one that was doing the rounds recently but im not sure, I think I recognise the address though.

Many thanks for any help!

Practice Auto 3,2,1 is offline  
Old 15th February 2004 | 04:35
  #2 (permalink)  
swh

Eidolon
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2,244
Likes: 62
From: Some hole
could be someone has done you a favour and signed you up to a porn site using you email address, or just one of the mass marketing emails that you get with hotmail/yahoo etc
swh is offline  
Old 15th February 2004 | 06:43
  #3 (permalink)  
BRL
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,068
Likes: 0
From: Brighton. UK. (Via Liverpool).
Hi there. If you do not know who sent it or havn't even 'Registered' anything recently or entered a competition or whatever then simply don't open it. Use Mailwasher or something similar to filter through them, it won't stop them coming but you can easy send them back without reading them.
BRL is offline  
Old 15th February 2004 | 06:44
  #4 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 357
Likes: 0
From: Bracknell UK
Hi Practice,

If you want to forward it to [email protected], I'll check it out for you. Title it "possible email virus" or similar, so everyone knows to be careful..

Cheers

Liam
E-Liam is offline  
Old 15th February 2004 | 20:18
  #5 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
From: here and there
Talking

Thanks for the help guys!

Decided to play it safe and trashed the E-mail last nite.

BRL: Thanks for letting me know about that Mailwasher prog. I'll try and find then download it.

Ta again

PA321
Practice Auto 3,2,1 is offline  
Old 15th February 2004 | 21:15
  #6 (permalink)  
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 1998
Posts: 4,282
Likes: 6
From: Escapee from Ultima Thule
Mailwasher also lets you read them while the email is still on the server. Very handy for checking something that might be legitimate....or might not be.
Tinstaafl is offline  
Old 15th February 2004 | 22:47
  #7 (permalink)  
BRL
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,068
Likes: 0
From: Brighton. UK. (Via Liverpool).
Hi there, sorry, I should have posted the link.... Here it is Mailwasher.net
BRL is offline  
Old 16th February 2004 | 00:34
  #8 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
From: here and there
Thanks L

Installing as we speak

PA321
Practice Auto 3,2,1 is offline  
Old 16th February 2004 | 10:25
  #9 (permalink)  
The Oracle
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,902
Likes: 0
From: Naples, Florida U.S.A.
Practice Auto 3,2,1,

It could be a virus, and it could be a spammer trolling for legit email addresses to add to his spam list and to resell to other spammers.

Whatever you do, do not reply to the email.

Take Care,

Richard

P.S. Mailwasher Pro is a great program, I have it on most of my computers.
Naples Air Center, Inc. is offline  
Old 16th February 2004 | 14:32
  #10 (permalink)  
Chief Tardis Technician
 
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
From: Western Australia S31.715 E115.737
There are numerous scams with this type of header, that are supposedly from a bank, ISp, Paypal, Visa etc. By completing the form or going to the website, you allow your account to be hijacked and cleaned out.

Be very careful of Emails that have suspiceous titles.
Avtrician is offline  
Old 17th February 2004 | 09:21
  #11 (permalink)  
Cunning Artificer
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,125
Likes: 7
From: The spiritual home of DeHavilland
Grrr

Not just suspicious titles Avtrician.

Be very suspicious of ALL e-mails that you aren't expecting or that come from someone you don't know Practice Auto 3,2,1. Treat all people who e-mail you out of the blue the same way you would handle them if they walked up to you in the street and tried to scrounge off you or sell you something. Telling them to push off doesn't work in cyberspace of course, it only confirms your address is valid and provokes more cr*p, but you can easily chuck them into the virtual dumpster. If its something really important they will send you snail-mail or a fax.
Blacksheep is offline  
Old 18th February 2004 | 00:59
  #12 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 106
Likes: 0
From: here and there
Exclamation

I forgot to mention the first time that the e-mail had an attachment that was about 100k in size!

Just recieved another from the same address with what looks like the same attachment but unfortunately I use a hotmail account too so the free version of Mailwasher is no use to me. What do you people who use it think, should I stop being a tight ar$e and fork out a few quid and get the full version!?!

Thanks again

PA321

Practice Auto 3,2,1 is offline  
Old 18th February 2004 | 09:38
  #13 (permalink)  
The Oracle
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,902
Likes: 0
From: Naples, Florida U.S.A.
Practice Auto 3,2,1,

Did you do the trial of the Pro Version? It should be a fully functional version.

As for that email with the attachment, I would say with 99.99% certainty it is a virus. (It sends several different types of attachments and they are all the same virus.)

Take Care,

Richard
Naples Air Center, Inc. is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.