PPRuNe Forums

PPRuNe Forums (https://www.pprune.org/)
-   Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting (https://www.pprune.org/computer-internet-issues-troubleshooting-46/)
-   -   What have I got? (https://www.pprune.org/computer-internet-issues-troubleshooting/119090-what-have-i-got.html)

Practice Auto 3,2,1 15th February 2004 03:09

What have I got?
 
Hi,

I've just recieved an e-mail from a blueskies131@hotmail with the subject registration confirmation

I think this may be a virus, possibly the new one that was doing the rounds recently but im not sure, I think I recognise the address though.

Many thanks for any help!

:{

swh 15th February 2004 04:35

could be someone has done you a favour and signed you up to a porn site using you email address, or just one of the mass marketing emails that you get with hotmail/yahoo etc

BRL 15th February 2004 06:43

Hi there. If you do not know who sent it or havn't even 'Registered' anything recently or entered a competition or whatever then simply don't open it. Use Mailwasher or something similar to filter through them, it won't stop them coming but you can easy send them back without reading them.

E-Liam 15th February 2004 06:44

Hi Practice,

If you want to forward it to [email protected], I'll check it out for you. Title it "possible email virus" or similar, so everyone knows to be careful.. :)

Cheers

Liam

Practice Auto 3,2,1 15th February 2004 20:18

Thanks for the help guys!

Decided to play it safe and trashed the E-mail last nite.

BRL: Thanks for letting me know about that Mailwasher prog. I'll try and find then download it.

Ta again

PA321
:ok:

Tinstaafl 15th February 2004 21:15

Mailwasher also lets you read them while the email is still on the server. Very handy for checking something that might be legitimate....or might not be.

BRL 15th February 2004 22:47

Hi there, sorry, I should have posted the link.... Here it is Mailwasher.net :ok:

Practice Auto 3,2,1 16th February 2004 00:34

Thanks L

Installing as we speak :D

PA321

Naples Air Center, Inc. 16th February 2004 10:25

Practice Auto 3,2,1,

It could be a virus, and it could be a spammer trolling for legit email addresses to add to his spam list and to resell to other spammers.

Whatever you do, do not reply to the email.

Take Care,

Richard

P.S. Mailwasher Pro is a great program, I have it on most of my computers. :ok:

Avtrician 16th February 2004 14:32

There are numerous scams with this type of header, that are supposedly from a bank, ISp, Paypal, Visa etc. By completing the form or going to the website, you allow your account to be hijacked and cleaned out.

Be very careful of Emails that have suspiceous titles.

Blacksheep 17th February 2004 09:21

Not just suspicious titles Avtrician.

Be very suspicious of ALL e-mails that you aren't expecting or that come from someone you don't know Practice Auto 3,2,1. Treat all people who e-mail you out of the blue the same way you would handle them if they walked up to you in the street and tried to scrounge off you or sell you something. Telling them to push off doesn't work in cyberspace of course, it only confirms your address is valid and provokes more cr*p, but you can easily chuck them into the virtual dumpster. If its something really important they will send you snail-mail or a fax.

Practice Auto 3,2,1 18th February 2004 00:59

I forgot to mention the first time that the e-mail had an attachment that was about 100k in size!

Just recieved another from the same address with what looks like the same attachment but unfortunately I use a hotmail account too so the free version of Mailwasher is no use to me. What do you people who use it think, should I stop being a tight ar$e and fork out a few quid and get the full version!?!

Thanks again

PA321

:hmm:

Naples Air Center, Inc. 18th February 2004 09:38

Practice Auto 3,2,1,

Did you do the trial of the Pro Version? It should be a fully functional version.

As for that email with the attachment, I would say with 99.99% certainty it is a virus. (It sends several different types of attachments and they are all the same virus.)

Take Care,

Richard


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:29.


Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.