Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > PPRuNe Worldwide > Australia, New Zealand & the Pacific
Reload this Page >

Truss: Aviation Safety Regulation Review

Australia, New Zealand & the Pacific Airline and RPT Rumours & News in Australia, enZed and the Pacific

Truss: Aviation Safety Regulation Review

Old 28th Nov 2013, 02:02
  #81 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Go west young man
Posts: 1,732
Angel Gotta love the internet!

Creamy:
My apologies.

I thought that pointing out what I consider to be the only remotely realistic and practical way of bringing about real change might be helpful.

And you wonder why GA in Australia is treated like a doormat.
The Minister's rep at the Sup Estimates...

..."Senator SINODINOS: I think we are in furious agreement..."

Perhaps we (concerted we..) should be lobbying Senator X (if he is not already) to lobby and educate the independent Senators elect so that they are fully briefed and onside prior to the Govt response to the TASRR report/recommendations??


Creamy may think this an exercise in abject futility... " Now that [the Regulatory Reform Program] has been refocused away from a timely conclusion, what is the new completion date and how is it proposed to stop it drifting along forever?"...however I am of the firm belief that there is still much to learn from history and human (repeated) mistakes of the past.


To that end...a little birdy, called P3.5 (fellow lover of history, fine wines and trolling the internet), sent me a link for an internet search that he initiated while compiling a timeline (how droll??) of the RRP, which brings up some interesting observations: Aviation Safety Regulatory Review Taskforce

Sarcs note: OBS1 is there have been multiple such reviews, of similar titles, dating back to the mid 90's (no surprises there I guess); OBS2 from the first 2 pages at least, the subject matter (RRP drifting along forever) is an inherently Australian reoccurring issue i.e. other NAA's have either resolved their version of RRP or didn't have a problem in the first place.

Ok just cherry-picking some of the search entries it becomes obvious that throughout the industry there are some extremely experienced wise old heads amongst us, all with common themes, concerns and solutions to fix the RRP bug bear that is slowly but surely strangling the GA industry.

Example: The AAA Forum Aviation Policy

It is also obvious that if industry cannot show a unified approach then Creamy's prophesy, on the outcome of the TASRR, will come true and it will be yet another wasted opportunity.... In sticking with the Greek/Roman theme Aesop once wrote in his fable, The Four Oxen and the Tiger..."United we conquer, divided we fall" ...

And a quote from aforementioned The AAA Forum Aviation Policy:
The Australian Aviation Associations’ Forum is an alliance of Australia’s major peak aviation associations to ensure the industry presents a united voice to government on key aviation issues and policy, characterised by expertise and the widest possible representation of people and organisations involved in aviation.
IMO (and in 'furious agreement' with Creamy) the internet search shows, more than anything else, that we have enough documented evidence and empty worded rhetoric to prove our case, now it is a matter of offering unified solutions to address the endless waste of public funds and the festering cancer that is the RRP...

NOTAM: The BRB's field trip this Sundy will now be convened at the Lake Burley Griffin Yacht Club (RSVP to "K").

Last edited by Sarcs; 28th Nov 2013 at 05:33.
Sarcs is offline  
Old 28th Nov 2013, 04:07
  #82 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 3,052
Perhaps we (concerted we..) should be lobbying Senator X (if he is not already) to lobby and educate the independent Senators elect so that they are fully briefed and onside prior to the Govt response to the TASRR report/recommendations??
Gee, I wish I’d thought of that …

I’d do that, as well as lobby the Senators elect, directly, to follow Senator X’s lead on matters aviation.

All it would take is a one sentence email. And anything more than a one sentence email will be ineffective.

BTW: I use the phrase ‘non-major party aligned Senators’, instead of ‘independent’ Senators, deliberately. Don’t underestimate the willingness of the Greens to trade off and leverage off ‘non-Green’ issues to get progress on their policies.

But don’t listen to me: It's just words and I have absolutely no idea about how Canberra or the Federal Parliament works …
Creampuff is offline  
Old 28th Nov 2013, 18:24
  #83 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
Games worth a candle.

Sarcs # 90 –"OBS2 from the first 2 pages at least, the subject matter (RRP drifting along forever) is an inherently Australian reoccurring issue i.e. other NAA's have either resolved their version of RRP or didn't have a problem in the first place'.

This certainly is the big question, thousands of words, hundreds of pages and only the gods know how much money has been thrown at 'it'. Why has reform not happened?. As Sarcs points out, there have been some very wise heads provide options and answers, present great submissions and even offered to help. The search string gives you all of this, in spades.

Time to answer the 200 million dollar question. Why has the RRP drifted along? The answers are not in the search string, you need to go one step further to reach Nirvana. Track backwards from the outcome – in the space (where no one can hear you scream) between the published official result sent out and the carefully prepared submissions going in. A mysterious transition occurs. The time honoured process of Ozfucation has been refined to a black art wherein diversion, fear, mystique, dilution and masterful deception are prerequisites of the game. Beware Grasshopper, the treasure can be winkled out but the protection of secrets in the Murky Machiavellian underworld is fierce.

I would be cautious about the 'lobbying' of the non aligned. While I mildly agree in principal with Creamy, we are not privy to the internal machinations or the wheels within wheels of political life. Indications are that despite some furious internal manoeuvring the servants of the public are not going to have it all their own way. With a bit of luck, history will not be allowed to repeat. I will await the Fawcett drafted ministerial response to Pel Air, that will tell the tale and perhaps indicate whether it is worthwhile writing a submission.

Just an afterthought, but a simple one sentence email is a great idea. The AAAA, AHIA, RAAA and AMROBA will be making well drafted, sensible submissions; the IOS could send a note of support for any or all of these. Much better than bashing out a half arsed submission doomed to become shelf-ware. Nice one Creamy.....

Last edited by Kharon; 28th Nov 2013 at 18:34. Reason: Sarcs RSVP – delighted to attend BRB bash, it will give the elephants a nice day out.
Kharon is offline  
Old 28th Nov 2013, 19:31
  #84 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 3,052
Time to answer the 200 million dollar question. Why has the RRP drifted along?
Because successive governments have allowed it to drift along.

The important 200 million dollar question is: Why have successive governments allowed it to drift along?

Answer: Because it makes not a schmick of difference to the electoral fortunes of the major parties: The electorate inevitably gives them alternating turns at the trough.

Yes, the Frankenstein continues to eat money and leave a trail of destruction in the GA sector with no improvement in safety outcomes. But those outcomes haven’t and won’t make or break any government. So they only need to pretend to care.

The collection of Senators with the balance of power in the Senate and the freedom to vote in accordance with their conscience rather than the party’s dictation are the glimmer of hope.
Creampuff is offline  
Old 29th Nov 2013, 22:54
  #85 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Go west young man
Posts: 1,732
Oops...the trough runneth over!!

Top catch CJ, RAAA and well scribed SC (MMSM)!

Once upon a time that would have been lost in the glossy pages of the Fort Fumble Annual Report and eventually be left to gather dust with the other 1000's of ozfuscated documents in FF's shelfware warehouse .

Moving right along...noticed the Phearless leader has notified the Minister that FF has got the Minister's back on this whole TASRR thing, DAS (dis)missive to the Minister {can't imagine it is addressed to anyone else but the Minister..??}:
26 November 2013

Dear Minister,

CASA was pleased to see the announcement by the Federal Government this month of the independent review of aviation safety in Australia. The review is an opportunity for everyone in aviation to think carefully about important issues, to put forward constructive ideas for change and to see how Australia compares with other leading aviation nations. It gives individuals and organisations the chance to have their say, including agencies such as CASA. The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, Warren Truss, told Parliament the Government is determined to ensure everything is done to make Australia’s aviation safety system even better. This is a goal CASA wholeheartedly supports and indeed works to every single day. When CASA develops new regulations, carries out surveillance, conducts an audit or delivers safety education our aim is to improve the outcomes of our aviation safety system. We are always striving to do this as effectively and efficiently as possible and the review will assist us by benchmarking our work and identifying opportunities for improvement.

Importantly, the review is looking at both the structures, effectiveness and processes of all the agencies involved in aviation safety, as well as the relationships and interactions of the agencies. CASA understands and values the importance of our relationship with the Australian Transport Safety Bureau and we have processes in place to ensure the outcomes of the Bureau’s investigations are carefully analysed and appropriate regulatory and safety actions are taken. Any steps that can be taken to further develop our relationship with the Australian Transport Safety Bureau, and other aviation agencies, will be positive both for CASA and the aviation safety system. Another important area to be considered by the review is the burden and costs of regulation. Mr Truss told Parliament: “The Government has a clear policy of reducing the cost of regulation to business, and this goal will be part of the review. If there are ways to improve our safety outcomes and reduce the regulatory burden and the costs imposed on industry, then we can create a win-win outcome for the Australian economy overall.” CASA already takes the costs of regulation into account when developing and implementing safety standards and we welcome this aspect of the review. While achieving the best possible safety outcomes must always come first, CASA understands regulation must not be an unnecessary drag on aviation activity. The review is scheduled to report to Mr Truss by May 2014 and will be undertaking extensive industry and public consultation over the coming months.

Find out more about the independent review of aviation safety.

Best regards

John F McCormick
So Minister all's well at Sleepy Hollow!
Sarcs is offline  
Old 30th Nov 2013, 01:42
  #86 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
And the band, played on.

Sarcs #95 –"Phearless leader has notified the Minister that FF has got the Minister's back on this whole TASRR thing, DAS (dis)missive to the Minister {can't imagine it is addressed to anyone else but the Minister.
Thing that gets the elephants panties in a bunch is that the glove puppet actually thinks that anyone, without a lobotomy that is, could believe the constant flow of carefully polished propaganda. For example IOS sensible argument
Captain Woodward said the Civil Aviation Order governing flight and duty time limitations also failed to meet the International Civil Aviation Organisation’s test of being based on “scientific principles and knowledge”.

AIPA believes that a scientific review of the proposed limits is necessary, ensuring efficiency is balanced with flight safety through principles developed by thorough scientific analysis, not lobbying. The motion to disallow CAO 48.1 will allow all industry stakeholders to go back to the table with CASA and produce legislation that is more aligned to international best practice, which will provide an outcome that is significantly better for public safety.”

Guess who - a rebuttal?
–"In summary, no matter what you may have heard, and contrary to some of the ill-informed statements in the aviation press, the new flight crew fatigue management rules provide a substantive improvement in the level of safety over and above the old rules. Modern, and well developed regulations and more effective surveillance and enforcement will improve aviation safety in Australia, and in this, CASA has the support and endorsement of the majority of the industry

Sarcs – AQW - Paul Phelan owns the handle Pheerles; as a rule, he is a gentle-man of the first water, but when misquoted, well, things may change grasshopper..... ....

Last edited by Kharon; 30th Nov 2013 at 01:58.
Kharon is offline  
Old 30th Nov 2013, 05:25
  #87 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: australia
Posts: 1,207
severe turd polishing in train...

Would that the Dear Minister just respond with a "Dear John" and get it over with, so we wouldnt have to put up with this crap.
aroa is offline  
Old 1st Dec 2013, 20:31
  #88 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
Timing is everything.

Seems the Bully boys v IOS exhibition bout is still on, short odds on Xenophon today; be odds on tomorrow.
Civil Aviation Order 48.1 Instrument 2013 [F2013L00258] Senator Xenophon on 24/6/2013 On 27/6/2013 Senator Xenophon postponed his notice to move that the order be disallowed to the next day of sitting The notice had not been resolved when the 43rd Parliament was prorogued on 5/8/2013. The order will be deemed to be tabled again in the Senate on the first sitting day of the 44th Parliament, so that disallowance action may start afresh (subsection 42(3), Legislative Instruments Act 2003).
Another IOS tag team member about to enter the fray. Not sure that Ian McDonald will ever get over his visit to the AMROBA meeting.
7 Civil Aviation Safety Authority—Corporate plan 2013-14 to 2015-16
Adjourned debate on the motion of Senator Macdonald—That the Senate take note of the document (Senator Macdonald, in continuation, 14 November 2013).

77 Civil Aviation Safety Authority—Report for 2012-13
Adjourned debate on the motion of Senator Macdonald—That the Senate take note of the document (Senator Macdonald, in continuation, 13 November 2013).
Aye well, it's nice to live in 'interesting times'; sometimes......
Kharon is offline  
Old 1st Dec 2013, 23:53
  #89 (permalink)  
601
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Age: 73
Posts: 999
The order will be deemed to be tabled again in the Senate on the first sitting day of the 44th Parliament, so that disallowance action may start afresh
So does that mean another 15 sitting days before it is resolved?
601 is offline  
Old 2nd Dec 2013, 00:13
  #90 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 3,052
At least, unless the Senate resolves to disallow, sooner.

A (new) motion to disallow must first be moved within 15 sitting days of the deemed tabling.

If a (new) motion to disallow is moved within 15 sitting days of the deemed tabling and the (in this case) Senate resolves within a further 15 sitting days of the Senate to disallow the instrument, or the notice is not withdrawn or otherwise disposed of within 15 sitting days, the instrument then ceases to have effect.

If a new motion to disallow was moved in the Senate e.g. today, 15 sitting days will elapse around mid-March 2014.
Creampuff is offline  
Old 2nd Dec 2013, 18:22
  #91 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
Passing strange ways of grown ups.

When I was very young, the Alice in Wonderland story seemed to be set in a very strange world indeed. Happily after a bit of guidance it all made sense; I expect the ways of the political world will eventually make sense. But at the moment, 'tis a puzzle.

The Regulatory review was scheduled in the Senate yesterday afternoon. Having both the time and (passing) interest, I watched the telecast....Baffled -...When Hansard comes out, I'll try to make more sense of it all; but looking back at yesterdays notes I have to say I just don't get it.

There were 'Albo and white paper' songs of praise; chorus led by Stearle. Up until then I had a modicum of respect for the man but as I listened, it dawned on me. These folk have not the first blind clue. No one properly briefed could make such speeches, unless it's a game of positioning. But the rest of the speakers, even ol' McDonald, left the feeling that a well polished turd was about to be put in a glass case and parked on the posterity shelf.

Probably my own fault, shouldn't have listened. My hope is that they were clearing the decks for a retrospective "Oh really – I am so surprised" speech... They all 'begged leave' to speak again later. Anyway – we shall wait for the trusty Hansard, perhaps that stalwart can un-riddle that which puzzles me, bit like Alice's tale when I was younger.....

Last edited by Kharon; 2nd Dec 2013 at 18:29. Reason: Still scratching the ol' wooden head.
Kharon is offline  
Old 2nd Dec 2013, 22:29
  #92 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Go west young man
Posts: 1,732
"Leave it to the experts!"

Othello: "...'twas strange, 'twas passing strange, 'twas pitiful, 'twas wondrous pitiful..."

Hansard - Aviation Safety Regulation Review

Actually the rhetoric recorded in the Hansard will not make it any clearer "K", so your summary IMO is spot on. To put it in context it was just an official tabling and recognition of the Minister's statement (14/11/13) on the ASRR, kind of like a tick-a-box routine.

Besides the vomitus maximus blurb by Sterle on Albo's performance as the previous Minister and the great Labor government initiative of the GWEP, the scene was set at the start by Sterle's statement:
I can say as chair of the Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee for the last six years, and now as chair of the references committee, that when we do address aviation safety it is bipartisan, and done very closely in association with the Greens and the minor parties as well. I acknowledge that the new government did not make this matter a political football in opposition, and we do not intend to make it one either.
The wind was officially out of the sails of anyone that had any intention of attacking the previous government's oversight performance of aviation safety after that. So then we were left with the political posturing, empty worded rhetoric and the age old barrier of the 'mystique of aviation safety' (i.e leave it to the experts).

Senator Sterle:
As Shadow Minister Albanese recently said, this balancing is best done by experts, not by politicians. Hear, hear! I could not agree more.
All of the Senators present were ill prepared and all seemed to be tip toeing around the elephant in the room. Senator MacDonald was the only one that went remotely close :
There was also a very great concern about Australia apparently following a European model, if I can say that broadly, of civil aviation regulation and safety when perhaps we would have been better off following the New Zealand experience and regulations of recent times. I must confess I did not fully understand all of the elements of what is obviously a detailed area of learning and expertise of operations but it was clear to me that the administration of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority did need some looking at.
Wishy washy, going through the motions and tentative at best, stark contrast to Senator X in the PelAir report where he takes the elephant head on :
1.23 It is my view that CASA, under Mr McCormick, has become a regulatory bully that appears to take any action available to ensure its own shortcomings are not made public. This poses great risks to aviation safety, and the safety of the travelling public. Equally, the ATSB—which should fearlessly expose any shortcomings on the part of CASA and other organisations to improve aviation safety—has become institutionally timid and appears to lack the strength to perform its role adequately. Both agencies require a complete overhaul, and I believe it is only luck that their ineptness has not resulted in further deaths so far. There is an urgent need for an Inspector-General of Aviation Safety, entirely independent of the Minister and his department, to be a watchdog for these agencies.
Oh well it seems we are reliant on a small contingent of good Senators, ably backed by expert IOS advice, to answer the question of...'Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?' (Who will keep the keepers themselves)?
Sarcs is offline  
Old 2nd Dec 2013, 23:09
  #93 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 3,052
One Laborial hand languidly washing the other

Proof Hansard here: http://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/...lication%2Fpdf

Search “Ministerial Statements”.

There were 'Albo and white paper' songs of praise; chorus led by Stearle. Up until then I had a modicum of respect for the man but as I listened, it dawned on me. These folk have not the first blind clue. No one properly briefed could make such speeches, unless it's a game of positioning. But the rest of the speakers, even ol' McDonald, left the feeling that a well polished turd was about to be put in a glass case and parked on the posterity shelf.
Quite so. It’s merely one Laborial hand languidly washing the other, as before.
Creampuff is offline  
Old 3rd Dec 2013, 19:40
  #94 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
Languidly languishing at the trough.

Just re read the four pages of absolute fury written yesterday as I read Hansard. I was going to post them; but won't now....
This is a result of the efforts of governments of all persuasions, which have never made aviation safety a political issue,
The notes will be distributed to the BRB at Burley Griffin on the week end; should provide some laughs/tears/ outrage. I have decided this is all, in part, my fault. I can't believe 'we' are so gullible, short sighted and disinterested after being wearied by the endless hammering during election events: that we not only vote for these people, but pay them as well. Perhaps the IOS need to start asking exactly what these highly paid people eat for breakfast or, is it something in the Canberra water?

Yup, my bad. Should never have listened to the speeches let alone follow it up on Hansard. It's disgraceful, and yet we not only pay for this, we tolerate it?

We, the willing, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, with so little, for so long, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.
K - "This complete cock up is a result of the efforts of governments of all persuasions". etc.


Steam Off.

Last edited by Kharon; 3rd Dec 2013 at 19:44. Reason: Tin Binitus
Kharon is offline  
Old 3rd Dec 2013, 20:14
  #95 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Great Southern Land
Posts: 74
Just to hand. Extracted text with no guarantee of probity. My bolding.


The Royal Victorian Aero club is hosting a meeting with the review committee at Moorabbin on Friday December 13th. Mr Phillip Reiss of AOPA (Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association) appears to be managing the invitations.
On the same day (Friday December 13th) AMROBA (Aviation Maintenance, Repair & Overhaul Business Association) is also holding a meeting of its members at Moorabbin, with exactly the same timetable (10.00 to 15.00).
Similar meetings are planned for two other general aviation airports - Archerfield and Bankstown, and that Phillip Reiss of AOPA is organising the invitations. An extremely large percentage of aircraft owners and pilots are not members of AOPA and would not be aware that AOPA has been nominated as an industry representative body.
P4. a.k.a. The Ferret.
PAIN_NET is offline  
Old 3rd Dec 2013, 20:53
  #96 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: dans un cercle dont le centre est eveywhere et circumfernce n'est nulle part
Posts: 2,606
AOPA is an American organization.


AOPAA is an Australian organization.


Exactly who is purporting to represent me? I'm a member of neither.
Frank Arouet is offline  
Old 4th Dec 2013, 05:09
  #97 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Go west young man
Posts: 1,732
Red face PAIN post can't be true...can it??

PAIN:
The Royal Victorian Aero club is hosting a meeting with the review committee at Moorabbin on Friday December 13th. Mr Phillip Reiss of AOPA (Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association) appears to be managing the invitations.
Before the announcement of the TASRR I had never heard of this NOAOPA character...so who is he and what possible credibility does he have?? {Hmmm..might have to put my research cap on, not big on conspiracy but there sure looks like some incestual behaviour going on here??}

If the above rumour is true and this bozo is holding a meeting with the review committee on the same day and time that AMROBA are holding their meeting (with Senator Fawcett in attendance)...FFS what gives??

Or maybe the tapmaker (I know different spelling) is so out of touch with the industry that he hasn't the first clue that some real bona fide industry stakeholders are holding a similar style meeting not two blocks away...

Benefit of the doubt..nah I don't think so!

My bet...'conflictus de causa!'

psMinister I know your quite busy right now, what with working on your response to the PelAir report etc, but could you slide a memo to Kingcrat to put out an address for submissions as my draft box is nearly full of final edit submissions from some real bona fide industry stakeholders..cheers Sarcs

Dated today see link: TASRR
Information on how to make a submission to the review will be available on this website in the near future.


pps And Minister forget that NAOPA character...hmm I heard that Mr Kilin a former FF employee and GA industry stalwart has plenty of time on his hands...

Last edited by Sarcs; 4th Dec 2013 at 05:38.
Sarcs is offline  
Old 4th Dec 2013, 17:41
  #98 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
And so begins the Forsyth Saga - Episode 1.

Regulation Review is up and away

The Aviation Safety Regulation Review announced by Infrastructure Minister Warren Truss on November 14 will open at the end of this week when Chairman David Forsyth is joined on the ASRR panel by Don Spruston from Canada and Roger Whitefield from the United Kingdom. The two visiting panellists are expected to arrive in Australia this weekend.

The minister will announce the launch officially this Friday (January 6), and submissions will be open until the end of January 2014.

The Review Panel is planning to meet in the first week with members of the Senate Standing Committee on Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport because of its engagement in a range of aviation issues.

Mr Forsyth says he is looking forward to a busy few months engaging with interested parties from all aviation sectors: “The Panel wants to hear views from across the aviation sector to understand how the system works, what the issues are and how improvements can be made. Your experience is important and your input will be appreciated,” he says.

The program will be supported by print and on-line advertising in a range of aviation press through December and January, and submissions should be made against the Terms of Reference. Submissions can be made through the Aviation Safety Regulation Review webpage from the end of this week.

The Review Panel has already planned a quick round of scoping consultations in the week of 9 December 2013 in Canberra, Sydney, Adelaide and Melbourne with airline and general aviation stakeholders. On Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday they will meet with Senate committee members including Sen David Fawcett, Bankstown stakeholders and government agencies including CASA and ATSB. The schedule then takes them to Parafield on Thursday, where they will meet South Australian and Western Australian operators, and to Moorabbin on Friday 13.

These are introductory meetings to allow the panel to gauge some of the industry’s views early in the review process. Mr Phillip Reiss, who has been engaged as a specialist adviser on issues affecting the general aviation sector, has assisted in arranging some of the meetings, but invitees have not been limited to AOPA members.

Unfortunately the panel’s Moorabbin meeting was planned before Department organisers were told that the Aviation Maintenance and Repair and Overhaul Business Association (AMROBA) had already scheduled a meeting with Victorian stakeholders at Moorabbin on the same day, chaired by Senator Fawcett, who has a keen and constructive interest in regulatory affairs. However, the panel will almost certainly have separate sessions with AMROBA at some other time, and Mr Forsyth has already spoken with its Executive Director Ken Cannane.

At this stage, the Review Panel is proposing to undertake extensive face-to-face consultation across all States and Territories once the public submission process has closed and the key strategic or systemic issues have been identified. Whilst it won’t be possible to meet with every aviation business and association during the review, Mr Forsyth says the Panel would welcome suggestions as to potential meetings. These suggestions can be made through the public submission process.
Wow, that was quick; and so the Forsyth saga gets on the road. Does this mean that the Murky Machiavellian department of dirty tricks are already out there, muddying the water, changing the road signs, draining petrol tanks and issuing dodgy invitations to the carefully selected chosen few. We shall see.

They are already off to a bad start. If this panel expect to be taken seriously they could begin by using the press as quickly to answer a couple of questions, up front. I'm sure PP would publish the answers.

Mr Phillip Reiss, who has been engaged as a specialist adviser on issues affecting the general aviation sector, etc.
What criteria was used to select Reiss as the "specialist advisor"?

What was the selection process?

Who else was considered for the lucrative little earner?

Who decided that Reiss is the Guru of all things GA?

You see I'm curious to know why a dwindling, insignificant organisation representing perhaps a few hundred private aircraft owners which essentially sells advertising and publishes a few magazines, is "the" organisation to represent GA, not to mention the potential for 'conflict of interest' creeping into the pot at a later date. Risky strategy - you bet.

Then there is this soft soap bollocks about the Melbourne meetings, the panel sitting contemplating their collective navels in one room, AMROBA and Fawcett doing the heavy lifting in the other. If this mob were fair dinkum, they would apologise and toddle along to the Ken and David show, sit at the back and listen. They would learn more there in a morning session that they ever would from "selected" invitees.

Not an auspicious beginning though, is it? Maybe my old wooden head is still reeling from the Senate dribble I forced it to wade through.

Last edited by Kharon; 4th Dec 2013 at 17:56. Reason: Come home Boyd, Bill and Dick – all is forgiven.
Kharon is offline  
Old 4th Dec 2013, 19:32
  #99 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 3,052
Just re read the four pages of absolute fury written yesterday as I read Hansard. … . I can't believe 'we' are so gullible, short sighted and disinterested after being wearied by the endless hammering during election events: that we not only vote for these people, but pay them as well. …
I know it’s traumatic and the future looks bleak, but after the anger and depression will come acceptance and renewal.

Hopefully most of your colleagues will have the same epiphany, sooner rather than later. (Looks like Cactus is there….)

If most of GA realised that all governments in the last couple of decades have ‘left it to the experts’, most of GA would realise:
- who’s actually responsible for, among other problems, the Frankenstein that is the RRP, and
- more importantly, how to focus GA’s meagre electoral influence to bring about real change.

The problem is that those ‘experts’ don’t have the expertise to carry out many of the responsibilities abrogated to them.

The TASSR is merely the most recent abrogation of responsibility to another group of ‘experts’ – prompting Monday’s flurry of Laborial self-congratulation and mutual admiration recorded in Hansard.

Perhaps the next step will be a ‘Taskforce’ to ‘implement the recommendations’ of the Review? Perhaps the ‘Taskforce’ will comprise a group of ‘experts’?

Don’t peck at the feed, folks.

Those who were paying attention would have noted the government this week asked the Greens for their ‘wishlist’ in return for votes in favour of lifting the debt ceiling. Imagine if that ‘wishlist’ had included completion of actions to address the recommendations of the inquiry into aviation accident investigation. Alas, too late. This time…

The non-major party aligned Senators are the only glimmer of hope for GA. Focus your energy on lobbying them.
Creampuff is offline  
Old 4th Dec 2013, 20:22
  #100 (permalink)  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Styx Houseboat Park.
Posts: 2,053
Chooks – what chooks?

I'd blame the bloody birds on the paddock – mayhap, 'tis time to round up the strays.

Kharon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.