PDA

View Full Version : VFR flights @ London City

hansengels
7th May 2003, 03:03
Hello,

I'm a belgian private pilot, flying the C172. This summer I have the plan to visit London for one day and I was just wondering if London City airport is available for day VFR flights as well....

Can someone on this forum confirm if I can come to EGLC on a private VFR flight?

Many thanks!
Hans

AC-DC
7th May 2003, 03:19
Why London City? This will cost you >£100 in landing fees, parking handling etc. Fly to Elstree where you are only 15min. from a tube station that will take you into Central London.:confused:

PS
Do not forget to call for PPR and briefing.

Why London City? This will cost you >£100 in landing fees, parking handling etc. Fly to Elstree where you are only 15min. from a tube station that will take you into Central London.:confused:

eyeinthesky
7th May 2003, 03:23
You need:

Two engines
Two CPL Qualified pilots
Both of you steep ILS approach qualified
A Handling Agent
Lots of cash (£300 landing fee at peak times)

As AC-DC says, Elstree (EGTR) is a better bet. All you need there is some VFR skill and occasionally a thick skin if the AFISO gets bolshy...
Alternatively Denham (EGLD) is also convenient for the train to London.

AlanM
7th May 2003, 03:44
Not available for GA flying I am afraid. Largely due to the intense noise restrictions around EGLC.

From the City Airport Website: