PDA

View Full Version : Hopeless at landings

ChiSau
5th Sep 2002, 12:20
Anybody able to give me any comfort/advice on landings?

I'm a new student pilot (19 hours, 2 exams) trying to get my PPL getting frustrated that I still haven't gone solo.

Seem to be progressing ok through the syllabus, but have had only an hour or so circuit time with an instructor (it seems that every time I turn up to fly there's a northerly gusting straight across the runway ay 15kts!).

Roughly how many hours has it taken people doing circuits to get sufficiently happy with your landings to go solo?? Mine, so far, are pretty ropey!

Any advice appreciated! :)

Thumpango
5th Sep 2002, 12:28
ChiSau,

take a look down the topics on this forum. If you look at the "Flat Landings" thread you will have all the information you need to make those landings nice and gentle! I was in the same position as yourself until I got advice from the thread.

I have been in the circuit now for ages, but should go solo soon after about 26hrs, but it varies according to the frequency of your lessons and learning ability. I had long gaps between lessons initially and spend the first part of the next lesson catching up to my previous standard.

Good luck, you will get there!

poetpilot
5th Sep 2002, 12:28
...and the answer is........

"It's as long as a piece of string" !!!!

Varies tremendously upon age, skill, co-ordination level of student as well as factors such as weather, instructor compatibility, length of time between lessons, etc etc.

But a few basic questions to you.....

1. Is the "crosswind" situation being brought up as an excuse by the instructor, or is the instructor still working on your general flying handling abilities?

If answer is "crosswind" then could there be other fields you could use for practice?

2. Where are you up to in terms of handling? What exercises have you done, and are you repeating certain exercises (and why?)