PDA

View Full Version : Typical Running Costs?

Flying_Anorak
24th Sep 2012, 11:39
Hi,

Me again!

Whilst I realise that this is a bit of a 'length of string' question, can anyone please give me an idea of what the typical annual running costs of an EASA CoA aircraft (such as a Robin DR400) are?

I've owned a glider for a number of years so I'm realistic about the nature of these costs, but I've no experience of having a fan on the front to gauge how much these will increase by. For example:-

Insurance: Myself and possible syndicate members are low hour (< 20hrs) NPPL holders but have 500+ hrs in gliders. My glider insurance is currently circa £700 per year so for an aircraft with a value of circa £30K, would £1500 pa be a 'typical' estimate?

CoA / 50 hr Checks: I've heard figures of between £500 and £5000 mentioned, assuming nothing major breaks, any idea of the 'typical' costs please?

Hangarage: I've been told between £600 pa for a piece of grass and £1500 for a hangar space - is this 'typical'?

Anything else I've missed? Obviously there are consumables and a possible engine fund to consider, but I'm trying to establish a realistic idea of how much the minimum running costs would be if we flew for between 50 & 100 hrs per year in a smallish syndicate with something like a Robin or equivalent.

Thanks in anticipation as always.

Cheers,

FA

Stampe
24th Sep 2012, 11:58
I,ve run a DR400/180 past five years in the south east sole ownership.Budget on £20k pa. for 100 hours flying.
£7k pa maintenance
£3k pa hangarage/base landings
£1.3k pa insurance based on 50k hull value no claims record 19000hrs total pilot time.
Fuel 35l per hour=3500lts= approx.£7k pa.

Any less than 100 hrs pa. I don,t think sole ownership would be viable.I,ve been very happy with my maintenance supplier they are not the cheapest but they do know what they are doing.
Best regards Stampe

Rod1
24th Sep 2012, 12:10