View Full Version : EASA pilot licence start date postponed

peterh337
22nd May 2012, 10:13
Till 17 Sep 2012
Details here (http://www.caa.co.uk/application.aspx?catid=14&pagetype=65&appid=7&mode=detail&nid=2129)

riverrock83
22nd May 2012, 10:27
On the original date I was almost certain to get a non-expiring EASA licence (I'm a student PPL). Now I'm likely to get an expiring JAR one, costing me a bit more in the long run as it will need converted at some stage. However its really just a paper chasing exercise.
Who else will this actually effect, since other than the fact that the JAR licences expire, they are essentially FCL licences anyway? I think we've now worked out that the date was immaterial to the IMC rating. Does that mean that the LAPL is also being delayed?

BEagle
22nd May 2012, 12:23
The UK Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has announced that the introduction of new EASA pilots’ licences in the UK has been delayed until 17 September 2012.

"Does that mean that the LAPL is also being delayed?"

Yes.

maxred
22nd May 2012, 15:34
The CAA said that due to the complexity of the transition to the new licence format, and changes to the associated requirements and infrastructure, the original 1 July 2012 date was not achievable.

From this statement do we take, that despite assurances of being prepared, they were not.

Are they playing lets wait and see for some other events to transpire.

The Eurozone falling to bits before our eyes, is perhaps taking its toll on legislation implementation.

They also have not one clue about the process, therefore delaying?

Was it not PACE on a previous thread that suggested do nothing on any FCL until after June, when all would be revealed?

mad_jock
22nd May 2012, 15:57
There is a conference with the yanks in June which alot is riding on.

Its more likely that all the old hands have booked thier holidays for that period knowing full well its going to be a royal pain.