PDA

View Full Version : Gliding areas.

thing
25th Jan 2012, 16:58
I've been for a bimble this afternoon over to Skeggy and up the coast to Mablethorpe. On turning west at Mabby I was told by the zone I was on (no names no pack drill) that I was infringing Strubby glider field's Notamed area. I was actually about a mile outside, not a lot I know but I was visual with Strubby and the gliders pootling around.

It wasn't a problem, no offense taken or anything I just headed further north but I was wondering if ATC designates a larger area to glider fields than is actually on the half mil map and GPS? And yes I'm much aware of glider fields and the dangers thereof, I'm also a glider pilot.

chevvron
25th Jan 2012, 18:24
What is it NOTAMMed as, advisory such as 'intensive gliding activity's or is it RA(T) or even CAS(T)? If not the two latter, you haven't infringed anything, and as you probably know being a glider pilot, unless local club rules dictate, there's nothing to stop a glider flying as far from base as possible in class G airspace provided the pilot has a map with him.

thing
25th Jan 2012, 21:49
It's just a glider site with 3,000' launches. Like a lot of glider sites (mine included) they fly Wednesdays as well, it's known as old duffers day. Saltby often have a semi permanent Notam on, 'intensive gliding' etc, not a competition or anything, just them doing what they do every day. I have a feeling that the nice lady on ATC was getting mixed up between Notamed and just being 'active.'

Maybe they were just being over cautious. Nothing wrong with that.

Talkdownman
25th Jan 2012, 22:02
So how can one 'infringe' unregulated Class G airspace?

ShyTorque
25th Jan 2012, 22:04
infringing Strubby glider field's Notamed area

Outside CAS or ATZ in Class G? Then it's the normal situation of "see and avoid". The term "infringe" is over-egging the pud.

thing
25th Jan 2012, 22:22