PDA

View Full Version : Literature preparing you for an ATC career

Dystopia
31st Jan 2011, 18:27
Dear reader,

I'm currently in my first year of University but I've quit half way because I've lost all interest in my current field of study because my dream is to do something aviation-related, air traffic control to be more precise. But the problem is math wasn't exactly my best subject at school, nor did I ever get any Physics.

So I was wondering if anyone knew the title of some books I could read in order to fresh everything up, to prepare me.

I've been looking at the "CBT SET: Essential GCSE Maths and Physics Part 1 + 2" (http://www.oatmedia.com/products.asp?cat=12) by OAA media and I was wondering if this is a decent choise or if there is anything better. Any other beneficial books are welcome as well

Thanks in advance,
Dystopia

SS10
2nd Feb 2011, 10:08
You don't exactly need A-levels in maths and physics anyway mate. As long as your competent with basic maths I wouldn't worry too much.

chevvron
2nd Feb 2011, 10:30
But if you've got a record of quitting courses, the question will be asked amongst the selectors 'he's done it once, will he do it again?'
Theyll be unwilling to commit vast sums of money starting to train you just to have you quit halfway through. Training to be an ATCO requires dedication, not just an attitude of 'if I don't like it I'll resign'.

Avoiding_Action
2nd Feb 2011, 12:21
Then again I know many different validated Air Traffic Controllers who dropped out of Uni.

Not Long Now
2nd Feb 2011, 13:59
Just like me. At my interview, I was asked why I hadn't finished Uni, said I had no idea why I was there and no interest in the course so left, and we simply moved on to talk about really hard stuff like times of arrival at an airfield from various ranges at various speeds. Learn your 60 times table and I'm sure you'll be fine.

Dystopia
3rd Feb 2011, 09:40
@ Chevron;