PDA

View Full Version : Setting QNH/Altimeter after GPS?

AdamFrisch
12th Sep 2010, 20:26
I have very little experience with GPS and mainly fly steam gauges. I was wondering if it's frowned upon to set the altimeter after the GPS altitude reading on stretches where no QNH can be obtained?

Whopity
12th Sep 2010, 20:38
Frowned upon! Its downright bloody stupid! A pressure instrument is set to a known pressure or elevation if you have a reference.no QNH can be obtained? How long do you fly for? You have a met forecast, you took off from a known elevation so you have must a reasonable idea what the QNH is or should be. The Altitude on a GPS is the least accurate part of it!
I was once involved in Research flying where we operated to 50 ft over the sea, we used a totally non standard procedure of setting the pressure altimeter to the Radar Altitude as that was invariably the most accurate datum but even then wave height may have produced spurious readings.

IO540
12th Sep 2010, 21:05
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m74/peterh337/gps-altitude.jpg

With the 16ft difference, and that is without even using EGNOS, shall we have a discussion of the wonders of the UK Regional Pressure Setting?

:)

Fuji Abound
12th Sep 2010, 21:44
What a good question.

I did nearly 400nm round trip today and was comparing the GPS altitude(twin IFR certified Garmin 430s) with the altimeter (as well as a few other things). It wasnt totally scientific but IO540 is correct, the differences were very small indeed.

430s must report a RAIM error when the function is unavailable but without a RAIM error what tolerances of vertical nav. should be expected and what tolerances are assured (if any). I must do a little research when I have a sec unless anyoen knows the answers.