PDA

View Full Version : Ergonomics of a Cessna 152

ronniehuang
21st Jun 2010, 01:57
Hi, complete newbie here. Started on the path of a being a pilot a couple of weeks ago. I've had a few of lessons up in a Cessna 152 and I've ended up a slightly stiff and sore left shoulder afterwards. Is it just me gripping too tight or are there ergonomic issue in the 152?
My shoulders are fairly wide and it was getting quite cosy with the instructor in there with me.

vw_nutter
21st Jun 2010, 06:56
Hi ronniehuang

I'm learning in a 152 and although I'm quite tall I still manage to fit in (just!). I think I'm at the limit and in hindsight I wish I started in a PA28 which has loads more room than a 152. I'm almost at the end of my PPL training so I've just carried on. When I pass I'm going to swap over to a PA28 simply because of the extra room. I'm not sure about the cessna 172 in terms of being much bigger but I would imagine it won't be far off a PA28.

For me it was just that I had no choice at the time as my school only had 152s. I would suggest having a sit in a PA28 or 172 to compare although they are typically a little bit more expensive per hour. In terms of ergonomics its not too bad but some of the primary instruments are placed seemingly all over the place in a 152. PA28 layout is much better.

Molesworth 1
21st Jun 2010, 07:25
Unless you are very fat or very rich I would suggest you continue with the 152. I really don't agree that the layout of a PA28 is more logical. Being tall is actually an advantage in a 152. I have to use a cushion. The space is narrow, however. A good idea is to remove your jacket and put any large items in your pocket in your bag.

I also find the rudder pedals clunky in a PA28 and the rudder far less effective (this might depend on model)

ronniehuang
21st Jun 2010, 07:46