PDA

View Full Version : JAA exam exemptions for military pilots- is it fair??

basil fawlty
11th Jul 2001, 00:10
I was really surprised to find out recently that ex UK military pilots are now to be exempted from ALL of the JAA ground examinations when gaining civilian licenses!! I am a flight engineer, and despite my civilian qualifications and practical experience of working on a civil airliner flightdeck, I understand that I would receive no exemptions at all from the JAA ATPL exams. Call me cynical if you like, but this new exemption seems to have been arranged now that the exams are more difficult and a lot more expensive to do!!
I don't really know what the military training consists of, but I do know that there are some major differences between that and civilian flying.
Is this an example of the UK aviation "establishment" securing benefits for its favoured groups?
I may well have opened a "can of worms" here, and have no wish to see this become a slanging match (as everyone is ultimately prejudiced by their background and experiences), but my question is simple. WHY have they got this exemption, and yet there are no exemptions for other groups of qualified and relevently experienced individuals??

Mindthegap
11th Jul 2001, 00:15
NOOOOOOOO :mad:

Ramrise
11th Jul 2001, 00:40
I can't believe it. Surely this is a mistake.

TR4A
11th Jul 2001, 01:01
Over here in the states we have a Military Competency test. It deals with regulations that are not part of military flying. After taking this written test the FAA issues a Commercial Pilot License with Multi-engine and Instrument Ratings. During military training we undergo detailed ground school and all aspects of flying.

LimaNovember
11th Jul 2001, 01:11
You cannot be serious. Or can you.

Cisco Kid
11th Jul 2001, 01:21