PDA

View Full Version : Mike Lithgow BAC 1-11 crash site, 1963

233SQN
11th Nov 2008, 22:37
quote from Wikipedia:

Lithgow was pilot of the prototype BAC One-Eleven (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BAC_One-Eleven) G-ASHG when on 22 October 1963 the aircraft entered a deep stall (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deep_stall) and crashed near Cricklade (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cricklade), Wiltshire (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wiltshire). Lithgow and six other crew died.

Can anyone provide an exact location? I know the area well, but no one i have spoken to knows of the crash....

thanks!

jubilee
11th Nov 2008, 23:13
Put the aircraft reg. in google search.
Location Cratt Hill,
Jubilee

ICT_SLB
12th Nov 2008, 02:36
One of the main reasons may be that the crash site was untouched. When I was an apprentice at Hurn, one of the lead hands on the line had been one of the team that did the recovery. He said the aircraft was found lying upright in a slight hollow and looking so intact that they thought the crew had got away with it - sadly not true of course.

Brian Abraham
12th Nov 2008, 04:01
The best I could find was a statement "2 kilometers NNW of Cricklade".
Could find no actual accident report but came up with the following.
1963 | 1903 | Flight Archive (http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/view/1963/1963%20-%201903.html)
1963 | 1904 | Flight Archive (http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/view/1963/1963%20-%201904.html)
1963 | 1939 | Flight Archive (http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/view/1963/1963%20-%201939.html)
1965 | 1977 | Flight Archive (http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/view/1965/1965%20-%201977.html)
1965 | 1978 | Flight Archive (http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/view/1965/1965%20-%201978.html)
You may also be interested in the belly landing of G-ASJD on Salisbury Plain during stall tests.
capt masland | flight international | sayen award | 1965 | 0946 | Flight Archive (http://www.flightglobal.com/pdfarchive/view/1965/1965%20-%200946.html)