PDA

View Full Version : Fly-in-Spain: recent experience?

s_pin180
20th Feb 2008, 19:41
Anybody here have any recent experience of Fly-in-Spain at Jerez? I've searched the archives and found a number of useful threads, however they all date back to 2006.

I'm considering doing an accelerated JAA PPL there and would like to get the inside line from a recent student and whether or not they would recommend it?

Cheers!

SkyCamMK
21st Feb 2008, 18:52
Don't forget to keep some budget to learn to fly in real British weather. PPL in the sun is great but you will be better off training here if you wish to fly here regularly. It should not matter where you train for the basics but weather plays a big part in a pilot's life. I have had to retrain pilot's withh PPL's got in USA Florida region, PPL and even CPL. Take care. Choose wisely.

hkeng
22nd Feb 2008, 11:00
Hi s-pin180
I have some recent experience.
PM me

s_pin180
24th Feb 2008, 17:04
Thanks for the advice SkyCamMK,

During a previous life as a glider pilot I became all too familiar with the eccentricities of the British weather. As well as the weather, may main concerns would be the airspace and R/T differences that living on such a crowded island will bring - As a result I had budgeted for some consolidation training in the UK.

Spain was and option I was considering, as there would be less risk from a whether perspective - I wanted to do intensive course as I can only take a certain amount of time off work in one go and intensive courses suit my learning style better. However, I would consider other places if you can recommend any - even in the UK. Somebody mentioned that the Channel Islands was a possibility? You know anything about this? I'd probably rather avoid the US.

Cheers

Utfart
25th Feb 2008, 10:15
I did my PPL there in 2007. pm me if you want realistic info.

michaelthewannabe
25th Feb 2008, 21:10
I was there 9 months ago.

http://mp-technical.com/ftd/?p=14

http://mp-technical.com/ftd/?page_id=23