PDA

View Full Version : Can you get an Arrow 4 in to a 500metre strip

Phil Space
21st Nov 2007, 18:45
Are there any experts on here who can give advice on a T tail arrow working a 500m grass strip?

gcolyer
21st Nov 2007, 18:50
The POH probably says no. I would imagine you can. But the bigger issue is getting it out. I would imagine with half fuel and no pax you might be able to get out again.

hobbit1983
21st Nov 2007, 18:55
I'm by no means an expert, but I believe the T-tail produces problems with shortfield landings (as opposed to the 'standard' design) due to the elevator being out of the propwash.

When you say 'working' presumably you mean basing/regular use? I suspect that it may be possible to land/takeoff from a strip under certain conditions/weights, but some other combination of variable factors such as wind, density altitude, MAUW, runway condition etc would preclude a fair proportion of flights.

S-Works
21st Nov 2007, 18:55
If the POH says no then the answer is NO!

I seem to recall the term MACHO being used in Human Perf questions.......

Kit d'Rection KG
21st Nov 2007, 19:19
Phil Space,

If you can, the POH will tell you. If you can't, likewise. If you don't understand the POH, step away from the aircraft.

If you'd like people to respect you as an able aviator, don't post darn fool questions like this.

Proper pilots fly by the book.

Granite City Flyer
21st Nov 2007, 19:47
I'm certainly no expert (ex = has been, spert = drip under pressure),
but I have flown an Arrow 4 in and out of Derby rwy 23 without a problem.(LDA 341m, TORA 445m).

Usual caveats apply - obstacles, surface condition, pilot skill, aircraft condition/rigging, engine/prop condition esp. max rpm set correctly. Soft ground will punish you badly on the take off run, you'll get to a certain speed then stop accelerating.