PDA

View Full Version : Mode S

A330 Dreamer
2nd Mar 2007, 02:00
Could some1 give me a brief idea of what the discussions on Mode S transponders is about and why G.A opposes them?

I've been trying to find it on the web, but came across nothing other than how Mode S works.

Thanks

AlexEvans
2nd Mar 2007, 07:19
I'm just a humble PPL student so don't shoot me if this is bo*****s.

I'm sure other's will correct me and/or elaborate but I think the argument goes like this:

Commercial traffic fitted with TCAS would like to know the altitude of GA traffic for collision avoidance - and currently they can't if your aircraft is only fitted with a mode A transponder. This is what the aircraft I am learning to fly on is fitted with and my instructor has it turned to standby to avoid alarming the airliners passing overhead at a much higher altitude. I think they want GA aircraft to be fitted with altitude reporting mode S transponders.

I think GA's argument against them is that it is very costly to buy a mode S transponder and that it is unfair to expect GA to pay for it.

Rod1
2nd Mar 2007, 07:24
http://www.pfa.org.uk/Copy%20of%20modeS.asp

Read all the link.

Rod1

Sedbergh
2nd Mar 2007, 07:30
Mode S in a nutshell
a) will cost a lot, especially in relative terms for "low cost" private pilots both initially and annually
b) will not reduce the risks of GA/GA midair collisions
c) will enable heavy commercial traffic to use shortcuts outside controlled airspace and save money
d) will enable unmanned aerial vehicles to be flown in class G airspace to do whatever UAV's do and make money
e) will avoid the CAA having to turn the whole of the UK into controlled airspace (according to the CAA)
There are a lot of sub-clauses to the above basics