PDA

View Full Version : Question for US controllers...

palgia
13th Oct 2006, 08:44
Any FAA controller out there with a few spare minutes....here are a few questions I've been wondering about....I am a pilot but I completed the CTI training in ATC, so I know a little bit about the ATC world. (very little)
1. Is there anything in 7110.65 referring to a "long landing"? I am asking because at the university I work at, we normally ask tower if we can do a "long landing" in a C172. I can understand the value of this information for the tower controller in terms of spacing. However in a few instances some instructors were "yelled at" for not making the request. Now, even though asking for a long landing is common at this airport, I still see it as "COURTESY call" given to the controller in an effort to make everyone's life easier. I don't see it as a REQUIRED call.... in other words I don't think I can get violated for not asking for a long landing and still use up 7000+ feet of runway in a C-172. My understanding of 7110.65 is that if I have a clearance to land, without any LAHSO ops, I CAN use the FULL rwy length as listed in the Airport Facility Directory. Am I right?
2. If I am cleared to land VFR aircraft #1, say on a downwind abeam the landing theshold, is there any rule as to the width of the pattern I have to fly? Again, same situation as above, if I want to get a "short approach" I normally inform the controller about my request. But if I already have a landing clearance as #1, shouldn't I be able to execute a short approach WITHOUT asking permission?
3. If I am flying VFR in class E, say at 11,500' above a class B (or in any other place for that matter), and are receiving flight following, can the controller give me control instructions? For example can he say "TURN LEFT HDG....."??? Or can he only point out traffic (and other safety advisories) and maybe "suggest" a heading?