PDA

View Full Version : Left or Right

JP1
1st Oct 2006, 18:34
Hi,

I was wondering for those right-handed pilots, who fly aircraft with a control column as opposed to a yoke, are you using your right or left hand in the circuit.

Effectively my first lesson was 12 or so circuits which I flew with with my right hand. However, since I am still learning the feel of the aircraft this was quite a high workload. Now the controls that I must use with my right hand, flaps and pitch control, entail a swap of hands just after TO at 200 ft or so and on finals again 400 or 500 feet. Of course this made the task of flying the circuit a little harder.

What do others do?

Thanks

Sir George Cayley
1st Oct 2006, 18:43
I'm ambidextrous, what about me?:)

Left hand on the joy stick - right hand on the throttle.

If throttle on left hand wall of cockpit......

As above the nifty change when engine power change reqired.

Doing glide landings helps:ok:

Sir George Cayley

FlyingForFun
1st Oct 2006, 18:51
One hand on the throttle, the other hand on the yoke/stick. In most spamcans, flying from the left seat, this means left hand on the yoke/stick.

I don't know why, but I've never had any problems with this. I can quite happily swap between left and right seat, yoke and stick, throttle on the left or the right without having to think about it. But I know that others don't find it so easy, and the only advice really is to practice doing it correctly in your type of aircraft.

FFF
---------------

tmmorris
1st Oct 2006, 19:35
FFF

What happens when you stall?

I ask because on my conversion to T67 I tried LH throttle, RH stick, only to come a cropper on the stalls because I instinctively put my left hand forwards a bit (to break the stall) and my right hand forwards a lot (full throttle) - only it gave me a stonking dive and only a little extra power, resulting in a massive height loss.