PDA

View Full Version : NATS Course Comparison

G-UNIT
8th Feb 2006, 14:58
After hearing/reading so much about how tough the NATS ATC course is, I was wondering how it compares (i.e. workload, technical learning, research etc) to a BSc(hons). Also what format do the assessments take, essays, multiple choice, practicals etc. I'm in the process of applying now and just curious as to the nature of the course. Thanks for your thoughts

NudgingSteel
8th Feb 2006, 21:49
Firstly, good luck with the application. It's a great job, don't let the odd moan on these pages put you off....
I graduated with a BEng(Hons) about two years before starting at CATC. For me, the two courses were very different indeed. Mechanical engineering never held too much of an interest for me so it was all new stuff, loads of maths, and very technical stuff indeed. The ATC course is actually not as technical as you'd possibly expect - most of the learning is geared towards practical stuff you'll use and although I'd never studied Meterology or Air Law, for example, the course length means there just isn't time to go into terribly complex detail. I'd always been interested in aviation, so stuff like aircraft recognition was an absolute gift!! Don't get me wrong, there's lots of stuff to learn - but it generally seemed the case that if you studied reasonably hard, the theoretical assessments weren't a problem. If you already have some interest and knowledge of aviation matters then you're already at an advantage.
A more recent person can probably give you an up-to-date summary of the assessment process, which has changed a bit since I was there.
There are lots of simulator runs though, and it's the practical side that catches most people out. You can study 24/7 and yet in the heat of the simulated moment, it's easy to screw up just enough to fail! (as in real life I suppose....).