PDA

View Full Version : ppl limits

cessnasey
22nd Nov 2005, 14:07
hi.

i recently started learning to fly (havnt been able to do much due to weather) and am color deficient so i am aware my flying can only go as far as private flying.

however after reading recent posts about the "give up rate" of PPLs, it got me thinking. so i started looking into what available extensions there are to a PPL being color deficiant. im aware i cant do nite flying. can anyone advise what other extended options would be available to me being a color blind PPL?

thanks

S-Works
22nd Nov 2005, 14:28
being colour blind does not neccesarily prevent you from night flying. I have a friend who is red green colour blind nad has a night rating. As i recall you can do a lantern test or something instead. I would consult the CAA medical department for advice.

I dont think there are any restrictions on colour for IMC or IR either.

wombat13
22nd Nov 2005, 14:42
Don't want to sound too glib, but I don't see how being colour deficient would stop you from getting an aerobatic rating.

You just have to be mad

The Wombat

Sans Anoraque
22nd Nov 2005, 14:46
My Grandad was colour blind and he flew gliders into Arnhem.

At night.

IO540
22nd Nov 2005, 15:08
I know of one definite case who failed not only the Isihara plates at his AME but also the CAA/Gatwick lantern test, and after hassling the CAA for ages got an IMC Rating. Restricted to day flying only. Prior to this happening, it was widely believed that this was impossible.