PDA

View Full Version : Homebuild Aircraft

GusHoneybun
2nd May 2005, 11:53
Peeps,

My day job is fantastic. I work two weeks on, one week off. However, the down side is all my buddies work three weeks on and no weeks off. Problem is I am bored poopless during my week off. As a distraction, I have been looking into a small (ahem!) hobby to keep myself busy.

Which brought me to looking at building a kit aircraft. I really like the idea of something that goes like stink and have found two type aircraft on the net

here (http://www.newglasair.com/kitcontentglasair.html) and here (http://www.ospreyaircraft.com/index.php?section=2)

Now, both are rather nice to look at but how in heck do I go about building one of these! The kit pricing on one of these is around the thirty grand ($US). I understand that there is also the sudries of seats, avionics, trim, wiring, paint, etc, etc. So I was wondering if somebody who has completed a homebuild aircraft could point me in the direction of some costings for these bits. I know that avionics is difficult to cost, so any advice here is appreciated.

Second, is the sourcing of an engine and prop. How in hecks name to I find a lycoming 180hp donk! I mean it's not something you see in the back of exchange and mart. A reconditioned engine (zero timed as well) would be cheaper, but are these allowed in newly build aircraft. And a prop would be nice too. As is painfully obvious, my experience in limited in this area, so again, any help and comments in the area of powerplant/prop would be mucho appreciated.

Sorry to blether on aimlessly, and thanks in advance to anyone who can help

ithangyouall

shortstripper
2nd May 2005, 13:02
I've not enough time to answer in full right now, but take a look at the PFA website (http://www.pfanet.co.uk) for the answers to your questions.

SS

DX Wombat
2nd May 2005, 13:58