PDA

View Full Version : Advice On Motor Gliders

silvereagle
18th Jan 2005, 15:42
I've been flying for over 25 years and have just about done it all. I've been very fortunate to have other people fund the majority of my flying (thank you all you tax payers!).

I've done rotary as well as fixed wing and you know, I really can't decide which is better. The majority of my recreational flying has been done on the standard 4 seat American SEP, but for the majority of the time, there was just me in the aircraft!

I have a share in an aircraft at the moment but having seen some of the newer motor gliders, I thought I might just move away from that arrangement and get my own motor glider. Why motor glider? Well, I love the feeling of just being airborne. I do not need to get to places at 140 kts and believe the motor glider probably represents some of the cheapest flying you can do. I seldom need to fly with anyone else (indeed when I need to I have access to several suitable aircraft). I never carry much kit and am not into inter continental excursions. Hangarage is not a problem and I have somewhere to fly in and out of.

I have never flown one (I plan to at my local gliding club shortly), but I thought I would canvass opinion on the pros and cons. You are usually brutally honest about these things so - what do you think? Is this a don't touch it with a bargepole or is it a sensible wheeze? I am happy to spend up to 30 grand.

topcat450
18th Jan 2005, 15:50
Whilst I'm not in a position to talk about Motor Gliders, if you're thinking of spending upto £30K for an aircraft, there are plenty of PFA machines which can be bought for half that figure that still have cheap-as-chips running costs.

Austers, Jodels, Aeronca's, Taylorcraft, Cubs can all bring cheap & cheerful flying.

'twas just an idea for you.

TC (a PFA convert)

Rod1
18th Jan 2005, 16:09