PDA

View Full Version : Rumors of automated pilots

FlyerBoy87
18th Dec 2004, 02:27
Greetings fellow pilots,
Let me introduce myself. I am a 17 year old student pilot and have almost attained my PPL. I am seriously considering a career in aviation because I absolutely love to fly. I have heard rumors (Actually speculation from flight shows I've watched) about the human pilot being phased out and replaced with computers. I would very much appreciate a seasoned pilots' point of view on what the job market will look like in 8-10 years and if it will be worth my while to pursue a career in aviation. Thanks!

Airbubba
18th Dec 2004, 02:46
You'll be just in time to take advantage of The Great Pilot Shortage which has been coming for at least the last thirty years of what I loosely call my career...

FlyerBoy87
18th Dec 2004, 02:49
I've heard about the pilot shortage quite a bit. But what concerns me a bit is that I will go through all my training and maybe fly a few years, then i will be replaced with a computer. This might be crazy talk, but it's crossed my mind. What do you think?

blueloo
18th Dec 2004, 03:21
I think your CRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAZY :}

I see dead people. :E

Airbubba
18th Dec 2004, 03:56
Well, at least some military pilots will be replaced:

"...Congress last year set a goal of making a third of deep-first-strike aircraft in the U.S. fleet unmanned by 2010."

from: http://www.latimes.com/business/la-011902drone.story

A couple of the major cargo operators are known to be funding serious studies of pilotless planes. "Scope" is a very novel concept in the freight dog business.

At some point in the near future, airline contracts will have an automation section. Perhaps pilots will be grandfathered like Profession Flight Engineers in the old ALPA contracts.

I figure pilots have at least as much job security versus automation as elevator operators.

Max Angle
18th Dec 2004, 14:18