PDA

View Full Version : How to get started?

CYQGFlyguy
6th Dec 2004, 06:08
Hello All,
I am a student pilot with 110 hours, nothing compared to just about all of you! I, like just about any other commericial student pilot out there, am extremely out to lunch as to how to land a first job. I look at many posts in here and see that lots of pilots have nearer to 1000TT and are still looking for "entry-level" jobs. So what am I supposed to be looking for? A "pre-entry level job"!? to fill the 200TT to 1000TT void in my logbook? I was wondering on what to start into. I am 17 years old and will hit my commercial very close to my 18th Bd (in May, if anyone is wondering...). I am just finishing high school and there is no other life for me outside of the skies. Naturaly, the first little while (ok, MAYBE big while...) in aviation will not be glamourous in terms of pay, yet it will be the best years of my life! (From what other pilots tell me, it should anyways, but I'm easily ammused!) I am very excited to start my career. I am extremely willing to locate anywhere (whats wrong with Alert!? lol) and of course will do just about anything to land a job... (living out of my truck cant be THAT bad!?). From my time doing what pilots do best... (after flying that is! or at least for your passenger's sake I do!!) killing time by talking, and my general observations ( I have a keen eye for the obvious!) there seem to be 2 mainly used paths to get into this unique field. Flight instruction seems to be used comonly, which im not totaly opposed to doing; and ramp/dock work, which can be good too. So how does one go about finding a job, (yes, I do know you need an instructor's rating for the flight instruction... keen eye for the obvious, remember!?) as I will be ready to spread my wings and fly to my first calling in June. Could anyone do me a huge favour and give me any "inside scoop" or tips as I almost feel like I'm in IMC with a faulty suction pump here (hopefuly not due to my inc