PDA

View Full Version : Typical Working hours

RIKW1975
11th Nov 2004, 16:08
Hi,

I have been flying as a PPL for the last 3 years and have logged 100 hours. For the last 12 months I have seriously been looking into moving into the commercial flying arena and looked into the various prospects, ways to achieve an ATPL etc..

Nothing New there on this website!!

However, I cannot seem to find much information on typical hour rostas or working conditions that pilots can expect, (except a few moans on the budget airlines) Could anyone advise me on what shifts, rostas one could expect to work for a typical airline in the UK? Thanks!!

sparks-flying
11th Nov 2004, 16:55
Hi RIKW1975

I'm in a similar situation to you but have managed to find some info on here.

From what I read on short haul european e.g. Thomsonfly you could expect to do 4 or 5 on and 3 off usually upto 10 hours per day.

If you look on the "Terms and endearment" forum on here and look at the Thomsonfly thread it seems to be where the most info can be found.

Please let me know if I am miles out with those figures or if you find further info.

Sparks-Flying

Joyce Tick
11th Nov 2004, 16:59
The average person on an eight hour day works about 1800 hours a year - but commercial pilots are only allowed to work half that - max!

A great life - and money for old rope!

flying scotsman
11th Nov 2004, 17:08
Now now Joyce, don't lead the poor chap down the wrong path.

you are correct we can only do 900 hours a year but this only applies to the actual time in the seat. not the check in turn round training, positioning, check out, delays office duties, paperwork prep etc etc etc. so realistically you will be in uniform for at least 8 to ten hour EVERY day you put the uniform on - even if you only fly for a few hours.

my experience is that flight crews will certainly do 1800 hours a year easilly.

I woun't even comment on the money for old rope bit..... if you don't know, I couldn't teach you. :hmm: