PDA

View Full Version : Flying on skis & Antarctica

I'm gone!
3rd Feb 2004, 22:09
Gday all,

I am interested in hearing from anyone who has experience on skis, particularly in aircraft over 5700kgs/12500lbs. Any tips on skis regardless of size will be much appreciated.

Also anyone who has experience in Antarctica.

I am looking into a position for the coming Antarctic summer and would like to get some info so that I can get better idea of what will be required of me.

Thanks in advance:ok:

Cheers,

I'm gone!

Mostly Harmless
3rd Feb 2004, 23:53
I have no personal experience with skis, but Kenn Borek Air is the company to talk too. They have a contingent of twin otters in Antarctica every year.

I'm gone!
4th Feb 2004, 06:37
Harmless,

Thanks for your reply mate. Can you tell me where I can contact Kenn Borek? Where are they based?
Im in Australia at the moment.

Thanks again.
Cheers,

I'm gone!

Mostly Harmless
5th Feb 2004, 00:43
Here's their web address, they have aircraft around the globe but the head office is in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

http://www.borekair.com/

You could also try this company, they also have twin otters on skis. All northern Canada though.

http://www.airtindi.com/

I hope that they will be able to offer some helpfull advise for you.

Also, try this site www.avcanada.ca there is bound to be someone on there that has flown skis.

I'm gone!
5th Feb 2004, 19:21
Harmless,

Maybe you should go by "Most Helpful".

Good onya mate. thanks!

Cheers,
I'm gone!:ok:

29chev
6th Feb 2004, 07:29
Mostly Harmless,
Is your name a ref. to the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy Books? If so "your one frood who really knows where his towel is"

Mostly Harmless
8th Feb 2004, 01:07
There is a theory which states that if anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

There is another theory that this has already happened.