PDA

View Full Version : Looking for tower ATCO training (or ATSA jobs)

duncanindevon
8th Jan 2004, 23:52
Happy new year everyone.

I’m an ex-NATS student (yes, yet another one!) who screwed up a couple of approach radar summatives just before Christmas and got binned (despite having a previously perfect clean sheet) 4 days before what would have been my finishing/posting date :rolleyes:

My details have been passed to the appropriate personnel people within NATS to try to find me an ATSA job, but it’s really not looking good. Despite all of the above, I still have my heart set on being an ATCO eventually – it’s definitely the job I was put on this earth to do, and even six weeks of OJT at Heathrow in July/August last year hasn’t put me off…

I’ve read replies to this sort of post before, so I know that I will probably have to settle for being an ATSA in the short term, which is OK, and that jobs don’t just fall in your lap. What I’m asking is – given that I have my tower rating, does anyone on here know of places at the moment which would give consideration to employing me as an ATSA in the short term with a view to starting training for a tower validation at some point in the future? Outright job offers would be great :p but I don’t have that sort of luck, so rumours, suggestions, anything would be good – I'm not hearing much good news from NATS at the moment.

Thanks!
Duncan.

PS. I should make it clear that I don't mind whereabouts in the UK, or how much I'd get paid - the job is the important bit!

flower
9th Jan 2004, 01:15
Duncan
I think we may have met when you visited Cardiff, sorry you weren't successful.
At the moment you are feeling naturally a great deal of disappointment, see what NATS have to offer and take your time viewing your options.