PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - VA Captain stands crew down after bungled approach
Old 13th Sep 2017, 12:26
Centaurus

Received 14 Likes on 5 Posts
To add a little humour into the subject of forgetting to check the flaps position after selection. In the late 1950's I was a flying instructor at RAAF Base Townsville on Lancaster Mk 4's - otherwise known as the Lincoln. I was converting my Commanding Officer to the type. His name was Wing Commander Cy Greenwood. Cy wore a bristling moustache and was a no-nonsense personality who did not suffer fools gladly.
During WW2 he was a Beaufighter pilot based at Coomalie Creek airstrip south of Darwin. During a raid on a Japanese seaplane base in Timor he was attacked by four Japanese Zero fighter floatplanes. His aircraft was shot down and Cy ditched a mile off the coast. His navigator was killed when the Japs strafed the ditched Beaufighter. Cy was repeatedly fired upon while in his life jacket but fooled the enemy pilots by ducking under water as they came at him.

He swam a mile to shore but was betrayed by local natives and caught by Japanese soldiers. He was beaten up and eventually incarcerated in the notorious Changi prison. He was repatriated after the war and remained in the RAAF becoming the CO in 1948 of the RAAF contingent flying supplies in Dakotas to the starving German population during the Berlin Airlift of Cold War fame.
See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berlin_Blockade

In 1959 he was posted to Townsville as Commanding Officer of No. 10 (Maritime Reconnaissance Squadron) where I did his Lincoln conversion..