PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - BA delays at LHR - Computer issue
View Single Post
Old 27th May 2017, 21:11
Ian W

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by xyzzy
I did operational IT for a living, rising to CIO, before I went into academia. I got bored with being told that filesystems and databases wouldn't stand sudden stops (ACID properties, right?). I was expected to buy exotic database products from Larry Ellison, tended by smug contractors who had a million and one reasons Postgres just wouldn't do. So I made it a point of acceptance testing from development into production that the systems I was expected to run had to survive a sudden stop. Salesmen from Oracle and NetApp talk about journalling, so let's see it: we're going to flip the power at the time of our choice during your testing, and your product will survive it, and we'll do it again a few times for fun, or you can all go back to your offices and fix it. It's not the 1990s, and fsck isn't a thing any more. They'd whinge and whine that I should be doing an orderly shutdown, but I genuinely meant "I will go into the development lab and flip switches at random".

I flushed out any number of problems with this approach.
I can remember a 7 day 24 hrs a day test cycle where we were running the system under load then going in and deleting primary then backup processes and confirming that the system kept running, then crashing hardware and confirming that the system kept running and that the error messages led the support engineer to the right fault and the documented recovery worked.
Like you I had to insist on that level of testing including overload testing.

Anson Harris
Perhaps the management should read this thread for some expert advice on how to run their IT systems - it seems that the world's supply of experts' opinions are here for the taking.