PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Older Wannabes
Thread: Older Wannabes
View Single Post
Old 9th Jul 2003, 04:23
Pilot Pete

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Michael

I always try to give the balanced view from my experiences. I am not a Wannabe any more, I have a job. I was not a 'young gun' when I started training. What I try to point out is what airlines seem to want, not what bigoted individuals think. I agree that ageism does exist, like it or not, but, I think if we are talking about 200hrs TT looking for the first job at 38 then I think you will have a harder time than someone aged 22 with the same hours. This is what you see at the big flying schools. What the older guy has to do is make up for the lack of flying during his younger years with what he has done during that time. For instance, if he has had an alternative career, or run his own business then that is valuable experience. Pick out the relevant bits and relate it to being an F/O with said airline. The older guy should have much better experience to draw on when answering the interview questions, giving fuller answers from when he has been in the situation that the interviewer is searching for.