PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Lowered requirements Emirates
View Single Post
Old 6th Aug 2015, 16:46
glofish

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OK then, i'll explain:

1. Won't this help FOs upgrade quicker? Isn't that a good thing?
Not always. If the future 1500h guy upgrades after 4 years, then flies with a 250h ab initio cadet, we will travel on very thin experience on heavy equipment in a very demanding environment.
Basically this is a rather silly rhetorical question!

2. I remember when I was a green turboprop pilot droning around hoping that my 2200hrs counted for something; hoping to land that dream job. Isn't this move then a good thing for them? This is 'their moment'. Let's not spoil it.
As I stated some pages above, it might be so, in a sane environment with adapted training. However with what exists here at EK it spoils ‘our moment’ for the ones who have to deal with very reduced experience on line. At least let me the freedom to criticise that, Sir!

3. Okay so the jet is bigger than a Dash 8, or a DHC6; and yes they will face a few challenges along the way, but I know of at least 1 guy who went from a little turboprop to a big jet and made it without too many issues. That guy was me.
Just one paragraph below you tell us not to do something because any personal experience is a minority experience, thus not representative, thus to shut up. Nevertheless you adopt it right here to try to prove something …… so much for consistency.