PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - How to thread drift in 720 posts!!!
View Single Post
Old 5th Apr 2014, 11:40
cockney steve

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gentlemen, Thanks for a fascinating thread. Ilove how you Aussies can call a spade- a spade without chucking your toys out the pram and storming off...pretty sure this would have died a death if posted in Engineers and Tech, (where it probably belongs)

Right, I'm NOT an aircraft mechanic. I eventually had my own village repair garage, had a Crypton engine-tuner with a 'scope and knew how to read the trace

I grew up with side-valves, copper plug-wires, 6v electrical systems.
Plugs were simply an insulator with an electrode wire down the middle, held into a steel body......you could clean and regap indefinitely, until the ground-electrode was no longer over the end of the centre-one, but pointing at the side.....or the centre was burned away and recessed unto the insulator.
OK it wasn't efficient, but neither was the carb, camshaft, porting etc.

This wasn't good for Champion, the brand-leader, who exhorted you to clean and regap every 3,ooo miles, replace every 6,000
They sold a machine to sandblast, pressurise and fire the plug, ,with an observation- window and a chart to compare plug condition.......
Plugs were 4 for a pound (five bob each) and the marketwas saturated andstatic ,by the early 60's.

The advent of cheap transistor radios caused a huge growth in sales, Also it caused a lot of concern with the "crackle" of interference which was not addressed by add-on supressors- plug-caps with a resistor, and an in-line one in the King-lead.
The plug-makers quickly latched onto this! build -in a supressor-resistor, the insulator will bake it and in 12K miles it'll be fxxed! punters will HAVE to buy replacements....on top of that, we can up the price, 'cos it's now a highly-technical Resistor- plug....A marketing-man's dream!