PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Pilots shortage
Thread: Pilots shortage
View Single Post
Old 26th Jan 2013, 23:13
Peripero

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It seems that all of you guys know what is going on. Everywhere I look there's a headline about pilot shortage, which leads a fresh pilot like me (PPL, 80h, currently on ATPL distance learning) to thinking that there is hope. There is that story about a lot of captains retiring in the years to come, along with the new FAA regulations worsening the situation, blah

I understand that some of you may discredit me because I am only a private pilot, for now, and not in the industry as we speak, but common sense tells me a couple of simple facts. I also know discussions like this one happen on pprune on a daily basis, but what the heck.

1. All economic booms happen after a crisis. After and IF the creators of this controlled economic mess called the recession decide that time has come to ease up a bit, there might be some hope for all of us wannabe airline pilots. So the only question is when will this happen. Maybe in a year, maybe in 5 or even 10.

2. In theory, when economies get in the expansion phase, people spend more, i.e. travel more because the media doesn't intimidate them with stories about the recession, the debt, the layouts etc. But, will airline industry ever get to the levels it was in the golden years (whichever these might be)? Someone mentioned the years ending with sixes... Never mind.