PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Southwest FLT 812 Decompression and diversion
Old 9th Apr 2011, 01:58
Sunfish

Received 90 Likes on 33 Posts
The stupidity is coming thick and fast now.

Grounded27:

Don't get me wrong cycles and HRS are a solid rule of measure but not accurate, not absolute.

The answer to your second question is hard to answer. Did you enjoy your job, were you compensated well, were you appreciated for your skills? I am sure you count beans very well, not to belittle your task, just saying that the bottom line is you were payed to SPECULATE based on statistics.

I'm an engineer not a bean counter. The reason we use cycles and hours has nothing to do with bean counting. Those measures are surrogates for the strain history of the part in question and in metals that don't have a yield point (ie Everything except steel) the stress history determines when the component will fracture.

We make estimates based on experiment as to how long a component will last, then we apply safety factors to that estimate. When the aircraft is in service, we monitor all failures and continue testing to refine those estimates based on experience. In more than one case I dealt with, we actually reduced the number of failures by extending the time in service limits for an assembly, see if you can work out why.

In other words, try telling a turbine disk or a chunk of aluminium that its life in service is really infinite, it's just that bean counters make us change them.

Ozaub has already explained that Boeing had a problem with quality control in relation to the adhesive system it once used. That does not mean that the process was defective, it means that Boeing discovered after the fact that it could not precisely control the manufacturing conditions tightly enough to ensure a sufficiently reliable bonding system.