PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Anyone actually like Emirates? (Hamster Wheel Thread)
Old 17th Jan 2011, 06:21
Uplink

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It has been a long time since I have posted on here and even looked on PPrune, but this grabbed my attention.

I have been in Dubai a long time now. I have seen many things change and many attitudes change. The company is huge now and still playing catch up. Someone posted a few pages back that if you let the UAE get under you skin you will be unhappy. There are good things and bad things in Dubai. I guess like all places on this earth (and I have seen many) DXB definitely has a dark side and the future for me is uncertain. My dilema like many is where I will end up. After 10 years here I am finding myself starting to allow the place to get under my skin. The problem is however, where do I go. The issue and problem is that I am a pilot and having had several jobs, where is there left to go. Every place will have its pros and cons. Any company you join will have night flying and lets face it, no one likes that.

On the plus side, I havent forgotten why I came here. I have a rostering system that does give me a choice. It isnt always good but it allows me to choose. I always believe that the simplar you keep the bid the more chance your expectations will be met. I generally get 85% satisfaction from my bid. I still have free medical for my family (well almost) as well as dental coverage. I get my limo to work, schooling, housing and bills covered. Before you all jump up and down the negative side will be covered. I can write my own tickets for staff travel and the route network is second to none. Petrol is cheap and it is a cosmopolitan place to live. My work colleagues generally are really great guys and I have now travelled pretty much the world.