PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Did you ever dread lessons?
View Single Post
Old 28th Aug 2002, 22:16
Flock1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Firstly, many, many thanks to all of you out there who have taken the time to reply. I have read and re-read everything that has been written and I am so pleased that I decided to gain your opinions, rather than just jackiing it all in (even though it was thaaaat close.)

Anyway, what I did was this......

I rang them up and told them that I was not happy about flying with this certain instructor. Obviously, the bloke on the other end of the phone asked me why. I told him the truth, and that it was basically a confidence issue. I did not feel relaxed with instructor X, and so I was told that swapping instructors would be no problem at all.

He told me to ignore what had been said by instructor X, and told me that other instructors who I'd flown with had said that i was a very capable student.

He also added that my original instructor was due back from his hols tomorrow, and that I would be booked in with him from then on. He also told me that I would never have to fly with instructor X again. (Incidentally, he did add that people in the past had complained about my original instructor, and so had swapped to instructor X with no problems. So obviously, personality is an issue with regard to student/instructor relationships.)

Anyway, I had eased my problem, but I still had to face instructor X whenever I turned up for a lesson. As it happened, I had a lesson today, thankfully, not with instructor X, but with the instructor who taught me during the solo circuit bashing portion of the course, and so I went for my lesson.

Instructor X's car was parked outside, and so I steelded myself for a nasty confrontation. But this never happened. Instructor X had obviously decided to just ignore me, and this was fine by me. (Yes, we are both children!)