PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Strange attitudes to female pilots.
View Single Post
Old 3rd Aug 2002, 11:26
Captsumday

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Whirly

Great you started this thread, although what I am about to post you may consider enough to pull the plug on the lot as it doesnt quite fit your original mold - I hope not.

And now I am about to blow at least half my cover in owning up to being a woman too! I am pretty new to aviation and I must say I have been impressed at the camaraderie I've experienced thus far - I feel privileged to have been able to develop such a passion and to be amongst others who are also DRIVEN!! However, SO FEW OF THEM ARE WOMEN!

I also recently read about some research done recently at Arizona State, Embry-Riddle and several other institutions about the paucity of women coming through collegiate aviation. Article stated that approx. "6% of all US pilots are women with only 3 % of airline transport pilots are women". I'm sure this doesnt surprise anyone, but somehow putting it in stark figures like that still jolts. Particularly if as MLS-12D suggests there is no difference between males and females when it comes to ability.

So why is this so?

Certainly, the culture around when I was in my teens and early adulthood - so long ago now I dont fancy dwelling on defining the interval - just didnt support the notion of women being engineers, pilots, busdrivers etc etc. And I got unknowingly swamped or persuaded by this, so I imagine lots of others of my peers did too. But I would have thought that for young people these days the cultural thing would have to be far less a culprit.

I guess I have to be wrong about that though as it cant be the genes that are to blame for so few women pilots - surely.