PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Keep at it Guys. This job is Fantastic
View Single Post
Old 24th Apr 2009, 08:42
handflown

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Keep at it Guys. This job is Fantastic

Hi Guys/Gals,

Just wanted to say a little something. In the Terms of Endearment forum there is a thread about what you like about this job. Have a look at it. It is great to see that we all do love what we do which is why we do it. So often on this website it is full of negatives and I talk to allot of Wannabees around the UK and Europe who question this as a career so I thought I would convert my feelings into your wnnabe forum.

I started training for my ATPL exactly 8 years ago today and now I am a Captain. I have flown a variety of types from Biz Jets, Turbo -props to the B737.

I just wanted to say keep at it. This is a fantastic job and you will definately be glad you started this career when you get here. Its simply amazing and I seem to enjoy it more every day. There are so many plus points. The money is very good despite what allot of people say. Just compare it to other careers. Allot of people forget that we get allot of allowances and flight pay which is only partly taxed so our take home is allot better. We don't work that hard. I think I have only worked a full week about twice in 5-6 years. In the winter I often only work 5-10 days a month!!!!

The main reason this job is so great is that generally we all love doing it. You are around like minded people who all have worked hard to get here (pilots and cabin crew) and we all just have a great time. We all just love it and 99% of people that are in the industry are really good guys. The banter is great the job is fantastic and the views are amazing. Its a happy atmosphere to work in and you gain a tremendous amount of professional satisfaction. I can go on and on about why we like to fly aircraft.