PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Nightmare on second solo
View Single Post
Old 15th Nov 2008, 14:17
snapper1

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Radio use by glider pilots

As a glider pilot myself I was dissmayed to read the AAIB report re the actions of the glider pilot.

Some observations.
He (the glider pilot) planned to fly the task, Pocklington -Elvington-Full Sutton-Pocklington. He was therefore planning to fly over the stub of Church Fenton MATZ and then Full Sutton ATZ. Basic common sense says that if you are using active airfields as turnpoints you must anticipate that you may have to land at them.

Reference to his half mil map would have given him both radio frequencies, either in the air or before he set off. Although not mandatory, it would have been sensible to call Church Fenton to say he was over their MATZ or to request a MATZ penetration (it was a Wednesday so he could expect them to be flying).

If on the very edge of Full Sutton ATZ he should have been at 2,000 ft at least, otherwise he is about to enter it.

'Massive sink' might be experienced for a time then followed by some lift (it was the 4th of June so it seems unlikely he had flown into the lee side of mountain wave when east of York). Therefore if the sink he flew into caused him to land immediately perhaps he was already near circuit height. If so, and he chose FS he was probably well into their ATZ.