PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Jet Airways turned me down?????
View Single Post
Old 8th Nov 2008, 03:17
NGFellow

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The expat pilot has become a "scapegoat" for the airlines to deflect from much deeper issues. As I mentioned earlier, as John the Baptist (voice in the wilderness), every single expat in India should have their options explored. Some did not quite believe me when I said so a week or so ago.
I am not an expat hater, wishing to get rid of an expat. I am an EXPAT!
I have been here coming up on 3 years and so I am not a newbie. I have been flying airplanes for 31 years. My post was meant as advise for those expats in the field.

Majority of the airlines here are in deep, deep trouble and they are in denial even now. They are very much behind the power curve, and I would say many are in the "region of reversed command" and will not be able to survive without a significant cash infusion or bail out package from the government. For anyone to suggest that the removal of the expat pilot will end their woes, they have another thing coming. Airlines have started to default on leases (KF), hotel bills are overdue, and parts are in short supply. A buddy of mine at Spicejet told me they didn't have any main wheel tires for the B737-800 last week, grounding two airplanes and thus affecting 17 flights or more. Ofcourse it was blamed on customs. He also told me that their expat CP has left, and although they have a new CEO no one has heard a word from him about anything. From the article above, it seems like even Spicejet airlines is going to axe their expats in 2009. Jet has already started (more layoffs coming) and KF will also do the same.