PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Extension Post 55
View Single Post
Old 13th Apr 2008, 04:19
mephisto88

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Jagmans respect and the 55 issue

I'm normally a reader, not a writer, but here goes - and my fire extinguisher is ready!!

First off Jagman, nobody 'deserves' respect, one has to earn it. With an attitude like that, you tar all cmdrs with the very same brush you mentioned. I'd personally like to think that any respect ever shown to me was NOT because of the uniform or position, but because of what has been 'earned' through showing all the good attributes which make a good skipper.

Secondly, with regard to the flying beyond 55 comments, may I submit the following personal viewpoints.
I'm A scale, quite old but both plan and hope to leave at 55. I'm a better pilot than financial guru, I haven't made stacks of moolah, definately wouldnt be classed as wealthy, but I would like to enjoy life ex-cx when I'm 55 and still young enough to enjoy it. Many of my colleagues of similar vintage also still plan to leave at 55, but probably with significantly more $$ than I!.

I personally do not believe the companies raising of retirement age will be the wonder pill to cure their retention and attraction problems that they think it will be. Very few of my friends are planning to stay, and of those, very few indicate they may only stay an extra year or two at the most. I'm not that niaive to know that when the big 55 time comes, that there may well be a few more who will stay. However, the overall feeling I get is that not many will stay, and those that do will not stay for long.