PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - IMC rating in theUK?
View Single Post
Old 31st Jan 2008, 20:02
frog_ATC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Maybe Zorst is a bit rude... in fact very rude, that's true :-)
He could maybe have expressed himself in another way.

But I must admit that I do not appreciate that UK IMC at all, and I hope they will stop it as soon as possible.

I know most of you will scream!!!! when they will read those lines, but that's my feeling.

Let's introduce myself first : my first job is Air Traffic Controller, radar and non-radar approach qualifications, ATC instructor and examiner in France.

I'm also a pilot, and an instructor (JAR instructor and examiner, and FAA instrument instructor).

As an ATC, I very often have these G-Reg IMC ratings in my controlled area, 100% IMC, VFR status. I've been ATC on 2 different airports, and this was always the same problem : these damned G-Reg IMC ratings, playing the "IR pilot", without qualification, but also, without the status, without the flight plan, and... without the skills.

Yes, outside UK.
Yes, very often.

One of these foggy and cloudy days, a G-reg VFR crossing through my (controlled!) TMA, and I wondered how this was possible with that awful weather, but I already knew deep inside.
So after a while I asked :

- G-XXXX, say conditions ?
- G-XXXX, we are IMC.
- G-XXXX, confirm you are VFR ?
- G-XXXX affirm.
- G-XXXX confirm you are VFR and IMC ??
- G-XXXX affirm.

... Pilots behaving that way have absolutely no respect, either for the ATC, either for the country they are flying through and its regulation. What a great image of UK !

Sometimes they tell you they are IMC, sometimes they don't.
Not only are they outlaw, but this is something completely impossible to handle in a normal traffic for the ATC.

When you tell them they should maintain VMC, they answer "I'm IMC rated".
I do not care your IMC rating, dummy, you are in France and I want you to maintain VMC !!