PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Major passenger disturbance on UA flight in Rio
Old 25th Jan 2008, 01:59
BelArgUSA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
United 9805...

I speak and understand Portuguese... as a matter of fact I am in Brasil in vacations at the present time. I showed this to a few Brasilian friends around me to verify my opinion, and I translated the English for them. I am a pilot.
xxx
We looked the tape a few times, I also read the texts in Portuguese which came with the tape on YouTube... It appears that it was entirely taped after the return of the aircraft to RJ. First I heard the clear and polite "SHUT-UP" of a "friendly F/A" from the "friendly skies"... I do believe, that a firm FOR YOUR SAFETY - PLEASE REMAIN IN YOUR SEATS would have been more appropriate. And Portuguese language should equally be used. I heard a Brasilian F/A making a PA... but merely one, although I can see there is what appears a large number of Brasilians aboard.
xxx
A F/A asked early on the tape, for the passenger to stop the taping. The passenger answered "the doors are open, is it...?" - Even though they are on board of a US registry aircraft, operated under FAR 121 - while doors are open, and have "blocked-in" for the arrival, although a precautionary return, the laws of Brasil are then in effect. Try to ask if Brasilian law requires written consent for people to be taped... I doubt it. It is not in Argentina where I live and work. Or do like Aeroflot, and prohibit taking pictures in or from airplanes... and send the FBI, the TSA, the 82nd Airborne and the IRS after these unhappy "terrorists"...
xxx
Apparently, buses came from the terminal to the aircraft, probably stopped on the runway. They deplaned with airstair(s), probably only one was brought to the plane and made a long wait for deplaning. The firefighters seem to be concerned with the RH main gear unit. Nothing about the engine on that side.
xxx